LibGuides: Business Ethics Research: Finding Articles

Brainstorm Keywords!

Brainstorming keywords is an important part of the research process. As you begin to look at your search results take note of any new keywords that are relevant and incorporate those into your next search.

Think about using BROADER terms to get more results, and NARROWER terms to retrieve fewer results. Follow the tips on the "Database Search Tips" guide to combine your search terms and BUILD searches to achieve best results.

Possible keywords to get you started are listed below. How many more can you think of?

"social responsibility of business"
"corporate social responsibility" or CSR
"business ethics"
"corporate citizenship"
"corporate governance"
profit or profitability
"triple bottom line"
sustainability or "sustainable development"
environment
"human rights"

Article Databases

Library Search (Advanced Search)
Search across databases for articles. For best results, first sign in to your library account, Filter to Articles, and Scroll down and review Search Tips on bottom of main page.

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Also known as ABI/INFORM Complete, content from ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry can be found in this one database. Provides access to business scholarly and trade journals, trade news, dissertations, and more. Coverage from 1971-present.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile contains full-text peer-reviewed content for over 13,000 indexed journals and reference works covering all subjects, including NPR, CNN & CBC transcripts and podcasts.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides coverage in the fields of Arts and Entertainment, Business, Communications, Education, General Interest, Health and Medicine, History, Home and Living, Literature and Writing, Politics and Government, Religion and Philosophy, Science, Social Sciences and Humanities, Sports and Leisure, and Technology. It includes access to over 9,000 full-text journals, with 7,800 of them peer-reviewed. Formats include articles, books, conference proceedings, reports and more.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides coverage in business disciplines including marketing, management, management information systems, production and operations management, accounting, finance and economics. It includes full text for more than 3600 journals, including 1900 peer-reviewed titles. Also included are full-text case studies, company and industry profiles, country reports, executive and analyst interviews, market research reports and SWOT analyses.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context integrates news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics and more to explain the historical and contemporary conditions necessary to understand global issues, conflicts and events.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar contains theses, books, abstracts and court opinions from scholarly sources, including academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Using Google search techniques, users can find and download articles directly from selected Bentley Library article databases and other websites. Google Scholar also provides links to related articles, enabling users to easily broaden a search.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides full-text PDF access to scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business. The database is searchable by keyword, item type, publication title, and language, and browsable by discipline and journal issue. Each journal has an individual "moving wall" date of available content; the date range is 0-5 years previous to the current year, depending on the journal.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context covers social and political issues with access to primary and secondary source material including journal articles, national and global news sources, pro/con viewpoint essays, videos, podcasts, and more. Includes full-text access to the Opposing Viewpoints book series.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library enables users to search periodicals for both peer-reviewed and popular information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. Indexing includes citations/abstracts, full-text HTML, full-text HTML with graphics, and PDF formats. Updated daily.

Scholars @ Bentley
Scholars @Bentley is a digital archive that collects and preserves the intellectual output of Bentley faculty and students. Archival collections such as commencement programs and photographs can also be found on the Scholars @ Bentley platform.

Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Science in Context focuses on key scientific concepts by providing access to a comprehensive range of science journals, news, reference works, and audiovisual resources with a single search. Browsable by topic and searchable by keyword, name, source type and more
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
Social Science Citation Index is a database that indexes over 3,000 scholarly journals by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, cited work and cited year. This database does not contain the full text of articles; however, these citations are from higher quality sources. Coverage is from 1900-present. To limit your search to Social Sciences, choose Web of Science from the Search dropdown menu, then Advanced Search, then More Settings. Users who have created individual accounts need to search at least once every six months to keep their account active.

Off Campus Access available with your full Bentley email address and network password.
Search tips are available to help formulate a more relevant search query.
If you find a citation to an article that is not available in full text, use the Journal Search to track down the full text online from another database or to find out if the Bentley Library owns a hardcopy.
If you find a citation to an article that is not available at Bentley, you may obtain the full text through a service called Interlibrary Loan.