LibGuides: Business Ethics Research: Finding Books

Reference Books

Why use Reference Books?

Locating background information in general and subject specific encyclopedias and dictionaries and other reference resources will help you put information in context.

Consulting reference materials will help you:

Get an overview of the subject.
Note key concepts/developments.
Identify significant authors.
See a chronology/timeline.
Discern connections/interrelationships with other developments.
Develop a list of search terms.
Use the bibliographies to locate other information on your topic.

Below are some suggested resources to get you started. Search the Bentley Library Catalog to find more titles of interest and please Ask a Librarian who can recommend resources for your specific topic:

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society by Robert W. Kolb (Editor)
Call Number: REF HF5387 .E53 2018 (7 volumes)
Explores current topics, such as mass social media, cookies, and cyber-attacks, as well as traditional issues including accounting, discrimination, environmental concerns, and management.
SAGE Brief Guide to Business Ethics
Call Number: REF DESK HF5387 .S236 2012
This guide to business ethics provides key terms and concepts related to business ethics in a short, easy-to-use format. It provides objective coverage of theories, corporate social responsibility, human resources issues, consumer protection, and ethical issues in marketing and advertising. (Summary)
SAGE Brief Guide to Corporate Social Responsibility
Call Number: REF DESK HD60 .S225 2012
This guide to corporate social responsibility (CSR) provides discussion of key concepts in a short, easy-to-use format. It is divided into sections on key terms, the global stage, corporate governance, corporate social responsiveness, public relations and philanthropy, and implications for corporate financial performance. (Summary)
The accountable corporation by Marc J. Epstein and Kirk O. Hanson, eds.
Call Number: Stacks HD2741 .A282 2006
Covers a huge array of topics from white collar crime to community partnerships, whistle blowing to corporate philanthropy, and features insights from the world's leading academics, business leaders, and consultants, including strategy guru Michael Porter, Enron whistleblower Sherron Watkins, and famed international corporate attorney, Ira Milllstein. (Summary) Also available online through Books 24 x 7.
Corporate Disasters
(Online Resource) Profiles the biggest corporate mistakes or misdeeds throughout history, covering the people, the times, the decisions made. Also available online through Gale EBooks.
Encyclopedia of Corporate Social Responsibility
Call Number: REF HD60 .E558 2013
Provides reliable and up to date definitions and explanations of the key terms of the CSR field which helps a researcher narrow their focus and provides search terms to specify their topics. Includes authoritative bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of environmental ethics and philosophy by J. Baird Callicott and Robert Frodeman, eds.
Call Number: REF GE42 .E533 2009
Includes essays covering a broad range of topics within environmental philosophy and ethics, including, to name a few. agrarianism, alternative technologies, animal ethics, Wendell Berry, Buddhism, coral bleaching, deserts and desertification, environmental citizenship, economic discounting, the Gaia hypothesis, green chemistry, Hurricane Katrina, mining and mountaintop removal, natural law theory , nuclear power, postcolonial environmental ethics, speciesism, teleology, urban environments, utilitarianism, vegetarianism, waste management, and the World Trade Organization.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Search the Bentley Library Catalog

With over 154,000 books & 8,000 DVDs & Videos in the Bentley University Library's Collection, the Library Catalog is a great place to find resources for your topic. Search tips are available to help you formulate a more relevant search query. You can also look in the bibliographies of books you find to identify other sources of information you may want to explore.

Important library catalog subject headings (click to search):

"social responsibility of business"
"business ethics"

Other related subject headings:

"sustainable development"
"industrial management -- environmental aspects"
"business enterprises -- environmental aspects"

The Library also subscribes to an e-book collection called Books 24 x 7 which includes titles of interest to students studying the field of Business Ethics.

WorldCat Catalog -- Search for books beyond Bentley

Search for resources from around the world and use the Library's Interlibrary Loan system to retrieve books, articles and even DVDs.

Click here to access Worldcat.

Bentley Library Doesn't Have It? Request it!

If you find an item (book, article, book chapter, etc.) in WorldCat, one of the databases, Google Scholar, or online that the Bentley Library does not own, you can request for that item to be sent here for you to borrow. Use our Interlibrary Loan system to request materials from other libraries.

Interlibrary Loan
Use this link to place requests to borrow books, articles, and other materials that Bentley Library does not own. Policies and other FAQs available on this page.

Interlibrary Loan will not be able to obtain eBooks, the full issue of a journal, reference books, and may not be able to obtain DVD/Videos, audio books, conference proceedings, dissertations, or case studies.

Borrowing from Other Libraries

Did you know that Bentley Library is a member of the Boston Library Consortium? Find out how to borrow materials with a BLC card!

Borrowing Beyond Bentley
Learn about borrowing privileges available at other area libraries including via the Boston Library Consortium.