History Research

Finding Aid for primary source material available on the internet.

This collection of presidential documents and audio and video files from UC Santa Barbara contains campaign speeches, inaugural addresses, speeches to Congress, Executive Orders, presidential debates, Economic Reports of the Presidents, radio addresses, and many other types of presidential communications and documents.

The IHRC is dedicated to promoting race, migratory, and ethnic research via books, serials, personal papers, organizational records, and the like that document immigrants' experience in the US.

The official library of Congress and also holds the Copyright office. Search various collections including photographs, newspapers, and more on a vast variety of topics related to the United States including government and history.

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration makes various documents related to the federal government and the United States available. Don't forget, there is a satellite location just up the street see next entry for National Archives at Boston.

Holds the permanent records of Federal agencies and courts located in: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont. Also includes some New England military service records, including: Civil War draft lists and muster rolls, Coast Guard station/vessel logs, Coast Guard Academy cadet records, Marine Corps Barracks records, Merchant Marine vessel logbooks, Navy shipyard/station/unit logs. Located just up the street @ 380 Trapelo Rd, Waltham, MA 02452.

Created by the National Archives, this site brings together thousands of documents for use by educators and students.

This is the free version from the government. For more up-to-date statistics, use our Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) available from our Databases listing.

Explore data about the United States by the numbers/statistics.