LibGuides: History Research: Finding Articles

Library Databases for History Topics

Library Search (Advanced Search)
Search across databases for articles. For best results, first sign in to your library account, Filter to Articles, and Scroll down and review Search Tips on bottom of main page.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile contains full-text peer-reviewed content for over 13,000 indexed journals and reference works covering all subjects, including NPR, CNN & CBC transcripts and podcasts. Use Topic Finder to generate keywords..
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete provides coverage in the fields of Arts and Entertainment, Business, Communications, Education, General Interest, Health and Medicine, History, Home and Living, Literature and Writing, Politics and Government, Religion and Philosophy, Science, Social Sciences and Humanities, Sports and Leisure, and Technology. It includes access to over 9,000 full-text journals, with 7,800 of them peer-reviewed. Formats include articles, books, conference proceedings, reports and more.
Accessible Archives: Early Historical Publications (History Commons)
Accessible Archives contains 18th- and 19th-century primary source materials related to American history. In addition to general historical topics, specific collections include African-American newspapers, the Civil War, and women's suffrage. The works are presented as HTML full text and/or images.
Biography in Context
Biography in Context includes over 400,000 biographies covering literary figures, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, current events and the arts. Searchable by name, nationality, occupation, and more.
Access Ending July 1, 2025.
CQ Researcher
Each week, the CQ Researcher examines an issue of compelling public interest. All CQ reports include an abstract, chronology, extensive bibliography and notes, and an outlook. A sidebar includes reports related to the latest topic, and the full text of past reports can be searched via the CQ search function or the cumulative index.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (Readex)
Early American Imprints provides books, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera published from 1639-1800. Disciplines covered include history, literature and culture, government and society, and politics.
Early American Newspapers 1690-1900 (Readex)
Drawn mainly from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society and other historical societies, this database of early American newspapers documents American history, culture and daily life from 1690 to 1900. Papers are fully searchable by date, title, place of publication, article type and language. Search results display as digital images and may be downloaded in PDF format.
Global Issues in Context
Global Issues in Context integrates news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics and more to explain the historical and contemporary conditions necessary to understand global issues, conflicts and events.
Access Ending July 1, 2025.
HeritageQuest Online
HeritageQuest Online includes genealogical records and historical source materials. Popular U.S. searches include federal census records from 1790-1950, city directories from 1821-1989, grave and cemetery directories, court documents, maps, and military records. Selected international records include immigration documents, censuses, and gravesites.
Access Ending July 1, 2025.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides full-text PDF access to scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business. The database is searchable by keyword, item type, publication title, and language, and browsable by discipline and journal issue. Each journal has an individual "moving wall" date of available content; the date range is 0-5 years previous to the current year, depending on the journal.
Mergent Archives
Mergent Archives provides access to almost 100 years of Moody Corporate and Municipal Manuals, and more than 85 years of Annual Reports for companies across the globe, in PDF format. In addition, Mergent Archives complements our DB Key Business Ratios database by offering more than 30 years of archived KBR data.
New York Times Historical 1851-2020 (ProQuest)
New York Times Historical offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital PDF reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage: 1851-2020.
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) provides the authoritative spellings, etymology and definitions for more than 500,000 words. The OED also traces word usage from first recorded occurrence to the modern period with more than 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of language sources. Search and browse by subject, part of speech, language of origin, region, and more.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. MUSE offers articles in full text (HTML and PDF formats), in a variety of subject areas including economics, education, film, history, literature, philosophy, politics, religion, women's studies and more. Journals can be searched by title, discipline, or collection. Users can also search within the full text of articles or by subject, author, or title.
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Coverage is from 1905-present.
Sage Sociology Full-text Collection
The SAGE Sociology Collection includes peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies. This collection covers such subjects as childhood, contemporary, comparative and classical sociology, consumer culture, ethnic, gender, leisure, and labor studies, social theory and the sociology of sport.

Scholars @ Bentley
Scholars @Bentley is a digital archive that collects and preserves the intellectual output of Bentley faculty and students. Archival collections such as commencement programs and photographs can also be found on the Scholars @ Bentley platform.

U.S. History in Context
U.S. History in Context combines primary and secondary sources with multimedia to provide comprehensive coverage of frequently-studied topics in United States history.
Access Ending July 1, 2025.
Wall Street Journal Historical 1889-2012 (ProQuest)
Wall Street Journal Historical offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage: July 8, 1889-Dec 31, 2012.
Web of Science (Core Collection)
Social Science Citation Index is a subset of the WOS database that indexes over 3,000 scholarly journals by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, cited work and cited year. This database does not contain the full text of articles; however, these citations are from higher quality sources. Coverage is from 1900-present. To limit your search to Social Sciences, choose Web of Science from the Search dropdown menu, then Advanced Search, then More Settings. Users who have created individual accounts need to search at least once every six months to keep their account active.
World History in Context
World History in Context chronicles nearly 5,000 years of the rise and fall of cultures and societies across all continents and eras. Combines primary sources with reliable references.
Access Ending July 1, 2025.
World News Digest
World News Digest is a domestic and international news database covering all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. World News Digest is updated twice weekly and includes a searchable hourly newsfeed. Its internal hyperlinks allow researchers to follow a story ahead and back in time, and lead to just the background information they need to understand its significance.

Search Beyond Bentley Library

Google Scholar will allow you to search outside of the library's databases to find information, however not all information you find will be freely available. You can configure Google Scholar to link to Bentley Library's holdings should those articles be available in our collections - visit the Remote Access to Google Scholar research guide for details.