LibGuides: Bentley Library Racial Justice Initiative: Libraries Support Racial Justice

Library Research Guides, Readings, and Media focused on Racial Justice

2019 ACRL President’s Program Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Blog Series: Reading List
This document includes the full bibliographical list from the entire seven-month series, provided as a standalone, compiled reading list.
Advancing Racial Equity - Harvard Business School
Recommended reading on Race & Racial Justice; Racial Justice in Business & Industry; Racial Disparities in Healthcare; Racial Disparities in Consumer Banking
Disrupting Whiteness in Libraries and Librarianship: A Reading List
This University of Wisconsin Library System bibliography contains citations and links (when available) to resources focused on race, racism, and disrupting whiteness and white supremacy in libraries. Particular emphasis is placed on the field of library and information science and librarianship as a profession. The resources are organized by topic; non-LIS-specific resources can be found at the bottom of the list. Updates to the list will be highlighted at the top with the date.
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Reading List
Developed in a partnership between the University Missouri Kansas City (UMKC) Division of Diversity and Inclusion and UMKC Libraries, books chosen for the DEI Reading List are written for reading by general, non-specialist audiences. This Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Reading List has been developed to assist faculty, staff, and students in gaining understanding and appreciation of DEI issues in our society.
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Fiction
The DEI Collection is limited to works of non-fiction, while fiction titles are part of the Avern Cohn Collection at the University of Michigan Law Library.
Racial Justice and Anti-Racism Resources - MIT
Resources on racial justice and activism at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology libraries.

Racial Justice Resources - Bentley University Library
This guide presents books, e-books, audiobooks, DVDs, and streaming films available at the Bentley Library as selected by staff from the Library and the Bentley Service-Learning and Civic Engagement Center. This list of resources is not exhaustive and is a work-in-progress; items will continue to be added to each section.
ACRL Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
ACRL is dedicated to creating diverse and inclusive communities in the Association and in academic and research libraries. This core commitment permeates the work of the Association, cutting across all ACRL sections, committees, interest and discussion groups, and communities of practice. The Association will acknowledge and address historical racial inequities; challenge oppressive systems within academic libraries; value different ways of knowing; and identify and work to eliminate barriers to equitable services, spaces, resources, and scholarship.
ACRL 2019 President's Program - EDI Discussion Series
ACRL provides resources for learning, advocating, and engaging with colleagues across the field on issues related to EDI and the changing future of academic libraries.
Anti-Oppression: Anti-Racism - Simmons University
This guide is intended to provide general information about anti-oppression, diversity, and inclusion as well as information and resources for the social justice issues key to current dialogues within the Simmons Community. This guide is by no means an exhaustive list of anti-oppressive initiatives nor does it capture all of the many facets of the larger conversations about the issues listed here. This guide serves as an introduction to these issues and as a starting place for finding information from a variety of sources.
Anti-Oppression - New York Institute of Technology
This guide attempts to provide general information and a starting point to learn about anti-oppression, inclusion, and privilege, as well as provide knowledge and resources to key social justice issues.
Anti-Racism - Framingham State
The Whittemore Library guide attempts to provide general information and a starting point to learn about anti-racism, inclusion, and privilege, as well as provide knowledge and resources.
Anti-racist Resources - University of Denver
This guide is intended to provide general information for anti-racist learning and practice specific to anti-Black racism.
Antiracism Resources - Texas A&M University School of Law
This guide will help users learn more about antiracism and how to become antiracism allies and accomplices. It also includes support and self-care resources for Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC).
#BlackLivesMatter - California State University, San Marcos
This guide is intended to provide general sources and research information about the Black Lives Matter movement and social justice issues to the CSUSM Community.
Black Lives Matter - Arizona State University
This guide offers a sample of the resources available at ASU Library and is intended for research as well as personal education.
Racial Justice Resources - Arizona State Ross-Blakley Law Library
A guide to resources provided by the Law Library, as well as external information, to support our community in considering racial justice and reconciliation.

1619
In August of 1619, a ship carrying more than 20 enslaved Africans arrived in the English colony of Virginia. America was not yet America, but this was the moment it began. No aspect of the country that would be formed here has been untouched by the 250 years of slavery that followed. On the 400th anniversary of this fateful moment, it is time to tell the story. 1619 is a New York Times audio series hosted by Nikole Hannah-Jones.
Code Switch: NPR
What's CODE SWITCH? It's the fearless conversations about race that you've been waiting for! Hosted by journalists of color, our podcast tackles the subject of race head-on. We explore how it impacts every part of society — from politics and pop culture to history, sports and everything in between. This podcast makes ALL OF US part of the conversation — because we're all part of the story.
Good Ancestor Podcast - Interviews with Change-Makers & Culture-Shapers
Layla F. Saad is a New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author, anti-racism educator, international speaker, and podcast host on the topics of race, identity, leadership, personal transformation and social change.
Momentum: A Race Forward Podcast
Momentum: A Race Forward Podcast features movement voices, stories, and strategies for racial justice. Co-hosts Chevon and Hiba give their unique takes on race and pop culture, and uplift narratives of hope, struggle, and joy, as we continue to build the momentum needed to advance racial justice in our policies, institutions, and culture. Build on your racial justice lens and get inspired to drive action by learning from organizational leaders and community activists.
Seeing White
Just what is going on with white people? Police shootings of unarmed African Americans. Acts of domestic terrorism by white supremacists. The renewed embrace of raw, undisguised white-identity politics. Unending racial inequity in schools, housing, criminal justice, and hiring. Some of this feels new, but in truth it’s an old story. Scene on Radio host and producer John Biewen took a deep dive into these questions, along with an array of leading scholars and regular guest Dr. Chenjerai Kumanyika, in this fourteen-part documentary series, released between February and August 2017.
Still Processing
Wesley Morris and Jenna Wortham are working it out in this weekly show about culture in the broadest sense. That means television, film, books, music — but also the culture of work, dating, the internet and how those all fit together.

Alabama Library Association Statement on Racism
Alabama Library Association Suggested Anti-Racism Resources is a compilation of resources from the American Library Association, social media, and most importantly, Black activists who invested significant amounts of emotional and mental labor to help educate the public. Without them, this would not exist. Special thanks to Chantel Hartman who worked with the Alabama Library Association on this project.
American Library Association Libraries Respond: Black Lives Matter
The ALA Office for Diversity, Literacy and Outreach Services has created Libraries Respond as a space for us to help keep current events in conversation with libraries' ongoing work in and commitment to equity, diversity, and inclusion.
Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association stands with BCALA and Black Lives Matter
The Asian Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA) provides a forum for the exchange of ideas by Asian/Pacific American librarians and other librarians. APALA stands in solidarity with the Black Caucus of the American Library Association in condemning increased violence and racism towards Black Americans and people of color.
Association of College & Research Libraries - Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
The Association will acknowledge and address historical racial inequities; challenge oppressive systems within academic libraries; value different ways of knowing; and identify and work to eliminate barriers to equitable services, spaces, resources, and scholarship.
Black Caucus American Library Association
The Black Caucus of the American Library Association serves as an advocate for the development, promotion, and improvement of library services and resources to the nation’s African American community; and provides leadership for the recruitment and professional development of African American librarians.
Delaware Library Association Stands with the Black Lives Matter Movement
The Delaware Library Association stands with the Black Lives Matter movement and all those standing against violence, racism, and white supremacy in our country. Our mission is to advocate for, empower, and educate a diverse library community. We unequivocally believe there is no room for racism in the library community that champions inclusivity.
Maine Library Association - Stand Against Racism
The Maine Library Association stands with the Black Caucus of the American Library Association (BCALA) and the American Library Association (ALA) in their condemnation of violence and racism toward Black people and all People of Color. We must listen, amplify the voices of Black people and People of Color, and be better allies. This is what libraries do: listen, convene, and support all our community members.
North Carolina Library Association Round Table for Ethnic Minority Concerns (REMCo)
Round Table for Ethnic Minority Concerns (REMCo) is a round table for North Carolina Library Association that serves as a voice for ethnic and minority members. REMCo strives to improve service to and in some cases even initiate service for the ethnic communities that we all serve.
Ohio Library Council - Libraries Stand Against Racism
Racial justice is not achieved by a workshop, a book, or good intentions, but with ongoing commitments and actions. Ohio’s public libraries provide equitable access to information for all people, regardless of race. OLC links to resources to help libraries respond to current events and social justice issues.
Virginia Library Association - Anti-Racism Resources
Virginia Library Association selection of the Zoomversation Chat Record of reading, watching, and listening suggestions: (as of June 2020)