Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Did you know that you can work for NASA, the Smithsonian, and the New York Public Library right now? Institutions all over the world are looking for "micro-volunteers" to take a few minutes out of their day to contribute to crowd sourced projects. Many of these projects involve transcription, where you read a historic document and write the contents in plain text to increase search functionality and accessibility. Others ask you to geo-tag maps, identify photos, map stars, record audiobooks, draw property lines, or submit photographs. It's easy to get started, and you can contribute as much or as little time as you have.
If you discover a broken link or if you have additional projects you'd like to recommend for inclusion, please contact the Archivist.
Mapping and Data Projects
What's on the Menu? at the NYPL
The New York Public Library's collection of historic restaurant menus. Menus have been transcribed but volunteers can review transcriptions for errors, or can geotag the location of restaurants on a global map.
Building Inspector at the NYPL
The New York Public Library seeks volunteers to help annotate digitized insurance atlases that map the history of the city's buildings and streets. Volunteers can help to draw and check borders of property lines and buildings, enter addresses written on the maps, classify colors, and find place names.
Be a Martian for NASA
Earn points by helping NASA to map Mars, count craters, and tag Rover images.
CERN: Large Hadron Collider at Home
A variety of projects that let you help to crunch data with the scientists at CERN
Colored Conventions Project at University of Delaware
University of Delaware collection of records from "Colored Conventions" which were political meetings held by black men before and after the Civil War.
University College London requests volunteers to transcribe the unpublished manuscripts of philosopher Jeremy Bentham.
DIY History at the University of Iowa
DIY History offers several transcription projects on a range of topics. You can transcribe Civil War diaries, lab notebooks, recipe cards, theater programs, and more.
Help turn books into e-books by proofreading digitized pages and submitting corrections.
Papers of the War Department
George Mason University seeks volunteers to transcribe papers from the War Department, which span a number of years and conflicts.
Dear Professor Einstein
A project from Oregon State University -- volunteers can transcribe letters relating to atomic science and American history.
Transcribe: Royal British Columbia Museum
Transcribe various collections from the Royal British Columbia museum, including diaries, government papers, and more.
Smithsonian Digital Volunteers
Transcribe a number of collections from the Smithsonian museums. Wide variety of topics including social history, Americana, political history, etc.
Citizen Archivist at the National Archives
Help transcribe documents from every era of American history with the National Archives' online transcription portal. You can keyword search and select from thousands of documents to transcribe.
Family Search Indexing
Help to index church and government documents to identify personal records for genealogists
Creation and Content Projects
The University of Virginia asks volunteers to submit photos of unique features in books published before 1923. Examples include words written in the margins of a book, letters found in books, locks of hair or plants pressed in books, etc. Anything that makes the book unique!
Our Marathon: The Boston Bombing Digital Archives
Northeastern University and WBUR have partnered to collect photos, recollections, oral history, and other material related to the Boston Marathon bombing. You can share material digitally at any time.
Record yourself reading a public domain book and create an audiobook version that is free for anyone to listen to.
Submit stories and other resources related to World War One. Shared resources do not have to originate in Europe.
Document the history of your local community by submitting photos and other media to a geotagged map. If your community is not already pinning on Historypin, you can be the first!
Answer daily animal trivia questions to donate food & litter to animal shelters.
Answer trivia questions to donate rice (equivalent monetary value donated through the World Food Programme).
The Hunger Site
One click per day to generate donations. 10+ areas of need are available for daily clicks.
Link Lists & Other
Updated periodically with new projects. Micro-volunteering tasks to help Amnesty International with investigations.
Single player, multiplayer, and iPhone/Android games that help you create and verify metadata for museums and libraries in arcade-style formats.
Engage with a number of virtual opportunities coordinated by the volunteer organization of the United Nations.
A database of projects including humanities and science projects. One of the most popular, Galaxy Zoo, allows you to help classify galaxies!