LibGuides: GLS280: Gender & Politics Worldwide: Locating Data & Statistics

Data & Statistics

Below is a collection of some starting places to look for data and statistics related to democracy and politics in the United States. It includes both library subscribed research databases as well as freely available websites.

Here are some additional ideas of places that you can look to find data:

National, State, and Local Government websites
- Consider what departments of government might be concerned with your research area and visit those sites (i.e. Department of Justice, Secretary of State, etc.).
Not-for-profits and Other Organizations
- Do you know of an organization that focuses on your subject area? A lot of organizations make their research available through their website.
College and University Institutional Repositories
- Institutional Repositories can go under many names (for example, Bentley University's is called Scholars @ Bentley), but copies of data that researchers used might be made available on the institution's repository. If you're having trouble locating if the institution has one, check their library's website.

As with any source of information, whether it be a book, article, or other item, it is always important to evaluate the source - check where your data was sourced and any methodologies provided.

Contact a librarian for assistance in locating other potential data sources.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a portal for quantitative data, statistics and related information. Use the search box to find information of interest, or choose from dropdowns providing access to information about industries, digital markets, consumer markets, and topics such as media, business, and society. Statistics, charts and/or graphs may be downloaded in the following formats: Excel, PNG Graphics, PowerPoint and PDF.

Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP)
The Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP) at Rutgers University provides information on women in U.S. politics, including statistics on women involved in political life as well as resources for research.
European Institute for Gender Equality (EIGE) Gender Statistics Database
The European Institute for Gender Equality (EIGE) provides statistics related to women and men. The EIGE is an autonomous body part of the European Union.
Eurostat
Portal to data from the European Commission covering a variety of themes.
Women in Local Government (UN Women)
Collection of data and analysis on Women in Local Government provided by UN Women.
Women in Parliament (IPU)
The Inter-Parliamentary Union's page on Women in Parliament provides information and links out to research and data collected by this organization.

International Statistical Agencies (U.S. Census) This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the U.S. Census, International Statistical Agencies provides links to the official statistical agencies for countries of the world (note: some sites may not provide content in English). Scroll to the bottom of the page to see the full list of countries. Free resource.

Women's Power Index (CFR’s Women and Foreign Policy Program)
The Women's Power Index "ranks 193 UN member states on their progress toward gender parity in political participation." Includes additional resources of interest.