Philosophy Research

Provides coverage of the major figures, concepts, historical periods and traditions in American philosophical thought. Topics covered include: Great philosophers: Emerson, Dewey, James, Royce, Peirce, Santayana Subjects: Pragmatism, Progress, the Future, Knowledge, Democracy, Growth, Truth Influences on American Philosophy: Hegel, Aristotle, Plato, British Enlightenment, Reformation Self-Assessments: Joe Margolis, Donald Davidson, SusanHaack, Peter Hare, John McDermott, Stanley Cavell Ethics: Value, Pleasure, Happiness, Duty, Judgment, Growth Political Philosophy: Declaration of Independence, Democracy, Freedom, Liberalism, Community, Identity

From Italian existentialist Nicola Abbagnano to Spanish Christian ontologist Xavier Zubiri, the entries discuss the thought systems of important individual philosophers from around the world, as well as important topics, ranging from aesthetic experience to Zoroastrianism. The entries tend to be longer and more comprehensive than in similar works and include guides to related entries.

Includes essays covering a broad range of topics within environmental philosophy and ethics, including, to name a few. agrarianism, alternative technologies, animal ethics, Wendell Berry, Buddhism, coral bleaching, deserts and desertification, environmental citizenship, economic discounting, the Gaia hypothesis, green chemistry, Hurricane Katrina, mining and mountaintop removal, natural law theory , nuclear power, postcolonial environmental ethics, speciesism, teleology, urban environments, utilitarianism, vegetarianism, waste management, and the World Trade Organization.

The Shorter REP presents the very best of the acclaimed ten volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy in a single volume. It makes a selection of the most important entries available for the first time and covers all you need to know about philosophy, from Aristotle to Wittgenstein and animals and ethics to scientific method. Comprising over 900 entries and covering the major philosophers and philosophical topics, The Shorter REP includes the following special features: Unrivalled coverage of major philosophers, themes, movements and periods making the volume indispensable for any student or general reader Fully cross-referenced Revised versions of many of the most important entries, including fresh suggestions for further reading Overnbsp;twenty brand new entries on important new topics such as Cloning and Sustainability entries by many leading philosophers such as Bernard Williams, Martha Nussbaum, Richard Rorty, Onora O'Neill, T.M. Scanlon and Anthony Appiah Striking new text design to help locate key entries quickly and easily An outstanding guide to all things philosophical, The Shorter Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy provides an unrivalled introduction to the subject for students and general readers alike. nbsp;