LibGuides: Transgender Research: Databases

Interdisciplinary & General

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A good starting point for scholarly sources; covers many disciplines, subjects, and publications.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Choose "LGBT Rights" from the Hot Topics list for in-depth reports on LGBTQ-related issues.
Gender Studies (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gale’s OneFile Gender Studies collection provides academic journals, magazines, photo and video archives from major news outlets, and PBS programs such as Independent Lens and NOVA.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
A good general starting place for multiple subjects.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a portal for quantitative data, statistics and related information. Use the search box to find information of interest. Statistics, charts and/or graphs may be downloaded in the following formats: Excel, PNG Graphics, PowerPoint and PDF.

Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Look here for articles from a communications perspective, or for articles about how a subject is covered in the media.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides full-text PDF access to scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business. The database is searchable by keyword, item type, publication title, and language, and browsable by discipline and journal issue. Each journal has an individual "moving wall" date of available content; the date range is 0-5 years previous to the current year, depending on the journal.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. MUSE offers articles in full text (HTML and PDF formats), in a variety of subject areas including Gay & Lesbian Studies, Sexuality, Women's Studies, Sociology, and Cultural Studies..

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search for domestic and international news articles using the "Search the News" box.
ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
The US Newsstream Includes major newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times and Wall Street Journal, and various local and regional US newspapers.
International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides news for selected countries. The collection features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text and citation format. The world's top news sources such as The Daily Telegraph, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, El Norte, South China Morning Post, The Times (London), and Wall Street Journal Asia are included in the collection, as well as other national, regional, state and local newspapers. Most of the content is in English, though other languages are also represented.

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) contains journals, conference and policy papers, gray literature, dissertations and theses, and research reports from government agencies and research centers. Can be searched by educational level, intended audience and publication type.
PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles on psychology-related topics.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar contains materials from scholarly and academia-adjacent sources, including academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar also provides links to related articles, enabling users to easily broaden a search. To search in Bentley Library article databases using Google Scholar, visit the

Configure Google Scholar to show direct links to Bentley Library Content
Use this link to add direct Bentley Library links to your Google Scholar search experience.