LibGuides: LGBTQ Research: Library Databases

Keywords in LGBTQ Research

Start searching databases, the library catalog, and the Web with the following words and phrases. As your search progresses, add to the list with your own terms.

gay*, lesbian*, homosexual*, queer, sexual orientation
bisexual*
transgender*, gender identity, gender expression
homophobia, heterosexism, heteronormativity
coming out, gay liberation
same-sex marriage, civil unions, domestic partners
individual people, places, events, etc. (for example: Stonewall, Harvey Milk, Proposition 8)

Note: An asterisk (*) will search all words that begin with the letters in front of it; for example: homosexual* will search for homosexual, homosexuals, and homosexuality.

Interdisciplinary & General

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A good starting point for scholarly sources; covers many disciplines, subjects, and publications.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
A good starting point for scholarly sources; covers many disciplines, subjects, and publications.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A library database offering digital, streaming videos, mostly documentary/news and educational titles. Allows users to view titles in their entirety or by smaller segments, create and share playlists, and embed titles in Blackboard.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
From the navigation bar, choose Browse Report >> Issue Tracker for reports on gender-related issues: Education and Gender; Gay, Lesbian, and Transgender Issues; Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered Individuals, Women and Sports, Women and Work, Women's Health, Women's Rights.
Films on Demand
Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of doctoral dissertations and theses in the humanities and social sciences, going back to 1861, with full text for most works since 1991.

Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide
Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide is a "quarterly scholarly journal that provides a forum for the discussion of issues and ideas of importance to lesbians and gay men worldwide."

News

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Current and comprehensive news coverage, especially from other countries. Use the "Search the News" box.
ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.

The Advocate magazine
The Advocate publishes articles, commentary, personality profiles, reviews and book reviews representing a wide variety of gay and lesbian ideas and perspectives.

Humanities

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR "includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences." (from their website)
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
There are many disciplines covered in Project MUSE; a few are Gay & Lesbian Studies, Sexuality, Women's Studies, Sociology, and Cultural Studies.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Look here for articles from a communications perspective, or for articles about how a subject is covered in the media.

Social Sciences

PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
For articles from a psychological perspective.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Articles from the perspective of education (at all levels). You can search by "intended audience," or find guides aimed at teachers or counselors.
Sage Sociology Full-text Collection This link opens in a new window
Dozens of full-text scholarly journals from Sage, all on sociological topics, including gender studies.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar contains materials from scholarly sources, including academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Users can find and download articles directly from selected Bentley Library article databases and other sources. Google Scholar also provides links to articles related to those that appear in the original search.