LibGuides: Careers: Researching Companies & Employers

Company Research

Getting to know the company you are applying for can not only help you during an interview, but also help you in determining if the company is a good fit for you. The following databases below offer various types of directory information and details on different types of companies. Read the descriptions under each type of resource to help you identify which will be the most helpful in your job search and interview preparation.

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Business Insights: Essentials provides in-depth information on U.S. and international businesses. Includes company profiles, company histories, industry information, and more. Best for researching more established companies and organizations.
DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
Use DemographicsNow to produce comprehensive business/residential lists in the United States. The "People & Companies" search will let you generate Business Lists and Non-Profit Lists based on criteria that you enter including geography. Particularly helpful in looking at small to mid-size companies.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Powerful, especially for researching start ups. For example, chase all cryptocurrency companies that are private; all M&A activity within that list; peer into revenue info, and more.
Data Axle This link opens in a new window
Use the quick search feature for U.S. Businesses to search for a specific company or use the advanced search to create custom lists using various criteria such as size, number of employees, industry, sales volume, geography, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Use the Company Dossier search available in the drop down menu in the top left to search for your company's name, create a company list, or compare companies. Nexis Company Dossier's include company profiles, the latest news, S.E.C. filings, legal research, and more.
Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window
Plunkett Research Online (PRO) offers industry/market trends and statistics for 28 unique industry groupings, company profiles, a directory of professional organizations, and information useful for job searching. Users also can search and print Plunkett's proprietary Industry Almanacs. Data is updated weekly and easily printable. Thousands of company profiles can be searched by company name or keywords.

For more detailed assistance in conducting company research, check out these other research guides:

Company Research Guide
by Lisa Curtin Last Updated Sep 12, 2024 2991 views this year
Private Company Research
by Kimberly Morin Last Updated Mar 27, 2024 528 views this year

Industry Research

Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window
Plunkett Research Online (PRO) offers industry/market trends and statistics for 28 unique industry groupings, company profiles, a directory of professional organizations, and information useful for job searching. Users also can search and print Plunkett's proprietary Industry Almanacs. Data is updated weekly and easily printable. Thousands of company profiles can be searched by company name or keywords.
IBISWorld Industries and Markets This link opens in a new window
Searchable by industry, keyword, company name, and NAICS code, IBIS World Industries and Markets contains United States and Specialized Industry reports, selected Global Industry reports, and UK Brexit Impact Statements. Industry risk factors can be assessed using US Business Environment Profiles.

More in-depth search tips on how to conduct industry research can be found on our Industry & Market Research Guide:

Industry & Market Research Guide
by Lisa Curtin Last Updated Sep 11, 2024 3272 views this year