MRI-Simmons Insights provides access to consumer demographic, psychographic, brand preference, and media data from the Simmons National Consumer Survey. Customizable demographic profile and crosstab reports reveal relationships between purchasing behavior and consumer demographics, interests, and preferences. This database is limited to 20 simultaneous users. Learn more about how to use MRI-Simmons Insights by visiting our MRI-Simmons Insights: How-To Guide.
Use the MRI Simmons How-to Guide to learn how to create reports on Leisure and Gardening Product purchases by demographics such as age, gender, etc..
Other Relevant Databases
Statista is a portal for quantitative data, statistics and related information. Use the search box to find information of interest, or choose from dropdowns providing access to information about industries, digital markets, consumer markets, and topics such as media, business, and society. Statistics, charts and/or graphs may be downloaded in the following formats: Excel, PNG Graphics, PowerPoint and PDF.
Euromonitor Passport provides business intelligence on selected Industries, Countries & Consumers, Companies, and Geographies, and comprehensive tools for analysis across datasets. Each category includes in-depth reports, analyst comments, statistics and external sources. New reports, analyses and comments are added daily, while industry reports are updated annually. Historical and forecasted date coverage varies by country, within a broad range of 1977 to five-year projections. Users will have to fill out a short registration form the first time they access Euromonitor. Faculty & Staff members please list your department under "Course".
The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX) provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and household characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau. Free resource.
Source of statistics about households by a specific geographic area or the whole US.
Demographics Now also includes Mosaic Reports. Choose the Mosiac Report that best fits your target market. The Mosiac USA Details are listed under The Help & Info drop down box in the far right. Then search each state to find where that Target Market is most likely to reside in the USA.
OR use Demographics Now to take a look at the U. S. population by a specific geographic area such as by state.
To access the reports:
Click on the Demographics Now from the Library's Databases A to Z listing.
Click on the >Demographics< TAB.
Click on Geographic Menu
After you choose the Geography. View the report.
You can then change reports in the Report Type drop down menu to "Mosiac Population Comparison" for example.
Other reports of interest include:
Basic Demographic Comparison Chart
Demographic Trend Comparison
Mosaic Household Comparison
(see "Mosaic USA Details" under "Help & Info" drop down menu on top right).
You can export the data as a PDF, Excel or Word document.