This is the "Citing Sources: Overview & List of Resources" page of the "Citing Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citing Sources   Tags: citation, citations, citing sources, copyright  

The following citation manuals and style guides provide the guidelines for formatting your paper and citing your resources.
Last Updated: Jul 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bentley.edu/citingsources Print Guide RSS Updates

Citing Sources: Overview & List of Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Why Do We Cite?

As stated on pg. 65 of the Student Handbook,

"academic integrity entails carefully distinguishing the words and ideas of another person’s from one’s own and acknowledging the source".

To use the ideas or words of another person without crediting the source is plagiarism, which is a violation of Bentley University's Academic Integrity Policy. 

Whether you are writing a paper, compiling a business plan or creating a PowerPoint presentation, it is vital that you properly cite the information that you have used. Information from books, periodicals, online databases, websites, etc. should be cited according to the guidelines of your discipline (usually MLA or APA) or those of your professor.

 

Citation Tools

RefWorks & EndNote are tools provided by the Library that you can use to create bibliographies and format research papers in the citation style of your choice (e.g. APA, MLA, Chicago). Please view the RefWorks & EndNote Library Research Guide for more information.

Bentley Writing Centers

Check out these on-campus resources!

  • Writing Center
    The Writing Center is located on the lower level of the Library. It is open days and evenings for one-to-one assistance with writing skills. It is staffed by peer tutors chosen both for the quality of their own writing and for their interpersonal skills. For more information about The Writing Center, please call 781.891.3173, or make an online appointment.
  • English for Speakers of Other Languages
    The ESOL Center is located on the Ground Floor of the Library. English Department faculty members who specialize in teaching English to speakers of other languages (ESOL) provide support to help students achieve success in their courses across the curriculum.

Online Citation Guides

We highly recommend the following online style guide web sites:

  • Research and Documentation Online is the companion web site to the popular handbook, A Writer's Reference by Diana Hacker.  This site provides examples of APA and MLA style in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, informational notes, and Works Cited/Reference List pages.  You may also view sample research papers.

For more information about all the types of citation styles please consult the box below.

      
     

    Citation Manuals

    The following citation & style manuals provide the guidelines for formatting your paper and citing your resources.

    Cover Art
    APA & MLA Styles:
    A Writer's Reference
    Call Number: Reference Desk: PE1408 .H2778 2009
    This widely used college handbook provides exercises in writing, grammar and research. It includes APA and MLA style guidance and examples.
    See also the companion web site: Research & Documentation Online

    Cover Art
    APA Style:
    Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed.
    Call Number: Reference Desk & Reference Stacks: BF76.7 .P83 2010
    APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences, including business.

    Cover Art
    MLA Style:
    MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed.
    Call Number: Reference Desk & Reference Stacks: LB2369 .G53 2009
    MLA (Modern Language Association) is most commonly used to cite sources in the humanities, especially in writing on language and literature.

    Cover Art
    Chicago Style:
    The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed.
    Call Number: Reference Desk & Stacks: Z253 .U69 2010
    A citation format established by the University of Chicago Press. Used primarily for History classes.

    Cover Art
    CSE Style:
    Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 7th ed.
    Call Number: Reference Desk: T11 .S386 2006
    CSE (Council of Science Editors) is the format preferred by the scientific disciplines.

    Cover Art
    The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation, 19th. ed.
    Call Number: Reference Desk & Reference Stacks: KF245 .B58 2010
    The definitive source of rules for citation in legal documents and law journals.
    See also: Introduction to Basic Legal Citation (online ed. 2010) by Peter W. Martin at http://www.law.cornell.edu/citation/
    OR LexisNexis Legal Citation Format http://wiki.lexisnexis.com/academic/index.php?title=Legal_Citation_Formats

    Cover Art
    Legal Citation:
    ALWD Citation Manual: A Professional System of Citation, 4th ed.
    Call Number: Reference Desk: KF245 .A45 2010
    "One of the guiding ideas for the ALWD Citation Manual is that it is to be, for the most part, a restatement of the rules of citation based on how experts actually do citation. It is a book prepared by professionals for professionals."
    See also: Introduction to Basic Legal Citation (online ed. 2010) by Peter W. Martin at http://www.law.cornell.edu/citation/

    Cover Art
    American Sociological Association Style Guide
    Call Number: REF DESK HM73 .A547 2010
    The ASA Style Guide... is designed to serve as the authoritative reference for writing, submitting, editing, and copy editing manuscripts for ASA journals. See also: Purdue University (OWL) Guide to ASA Citations &
    WCU Guide to ASA Citations & Suffolk University Guide to ASA Citations

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip