LibGuides: Economics: Databases and Websites

Economics Databases

The following library databases are an excellent place to begin exploring topics in economics. These, along with resources available in the Trading Room, will provide you with data and information to support your research.

ABI/INFORM Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Global is one of the most comprehensive business databases on the market. It includes in-depth coverage for over 3,535 publications, with more than 2,495 available in full text. Content covers 1923-present and is updated daily.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry is the perfect companion to the business and management content in ABI/INFORM. It includes in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends, and other topics for more than 2,290 publications, with over 2,110 in full-text. Content covers 1975-present and is updated daily.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete includes coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, management information systems, production and operations management, accounting, finance and economics. Also included are company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, country reports, and market research reports. This database is updated daily.
EconLit with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EconLit with Full Text contains all of the indexing available in EconLit, plus full text for more than 600 journals. This database also contains many non-English full-text journals in economics & finance. It provides links to full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.
The Economist This link opens in a new window
The Economist provides global reporting and analysis on economics, business, geopolitics, technology, and culture. Also included are Briefings, Special Reports and over 20 years of archived back issues. Available to current Bentley students, faculty, and staff. Visit our The Economist guide for directions on how to access this subscription and create an account.
Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor Passport provides business intelligence on selected Industries, Countries & Consumers, Companies, and Geographies, and comprehensive tools for analysis across datasets. Each category includes in-depth reports, analyst comments, statistics and external sources. New reports, analyses and comments are added daily, while industry reports are updated annually. Historical and forecasted date coverage varies by country, within a broad range of 1977 to five-year projections. Users will have to fill out a short registration form the first time they access Euromonitor. Faculty & Staff members please list your department under "Course".
Financial Times (Registration Required) This link opens in a new window
Online access to Financial Times via ft.com includes unlimited articles and a MyFT account enabling users to save articles, set up topic follows, and customize alerts. The website also provides data on world markets (on 10-to-15-minute delay), a fund comparison tool, and more. FT.com content is protected by the Financial Times Copyright policy available on their website. First time users should visit the FT.com Research Guide to register for an account using a Bentley email address.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The site provides data from the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of the Wall Street Journal from 1984-present.
World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new window
Updated quarterly, World Development Indicators Online (WDI) provides direct access to more than 700 development indicators with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2010, where data are available.
WSJ.com (Registration Required) This link opens in a new window
Online access to The Wall Street Journal via wsj.com includes unlimited article access, audiovisual materials, and premium content not available in the Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) database. English, Chinese, and Japanese editions are available.First time users should visit the WSJ.com Research Guide to register for an account.

Web Resources

There are a number of freely available, quality, Web resources that provide excellent information in the area of economics and economic theory, history, and practice.

EconPapers This link opens in a new window
EconPapers provides access to RePEc, the world's largest collection of on-line Economics working papers, journal articles, e-books, book chapters, and software. Please note that this database does not contain full-text journal articles.

EH.net
EH.net provides full text of book reviews and course syllabi, directory of economic historians, lists of conferences, an Encyclopedia of economic and business history, and access to historical economic data sets (such as Global Financial Data, 1880-1913 and historic labor statistics).
Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Research and policy analysis on global macroeconomic, trade, and finance issues affecting the United States.
National Bureau of Economic Research
The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers are intended to make results of NBER research available to other economists in preliminary form to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before final publication. Search working papers and books by author/title, full-text keyword, meeting date, or NBER program area. Also included are U.S. Business Cycle Expansion and Contraction (recession) data from 1854 to the present.
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
The OECD works with governments to understand what drives economic, social and environmental change. They measure productivity and global flows of trade and investment and analyze and compare data to predict future trends. The OECD sets international standards on a wide range of things, from agriculture and tax to the safety of chemicals.

RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) This link opens in a new window
Research Papers in Economics (RePEc) is the world's largest collection of on-line Economics working papers, journal articles and software. Please note that RePEc does not contain full-text journal articles. If a working paper or journal article is not indicated as "downloadable", please contact the author, publisher and/or the Bentley University Reference Desk for assistance. Free resource.

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA is one of the world's leading statistical agencies. BEA produces some of the most closely watched economic statistics that influence the decisions made by government officials, business people, households, and individuals. BEA's economic statistics, which provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy, are key ingredients in critical decisions affecting monetary policy, tax and budget projections, and business investment plans.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant.
The World Bank Research & Outlook
The Development Economics Vice Presidency (DEC) seeks to increase understanding of development policies and programs by providing intellectual leadership and analytical services to the Bank and the development community. DEC is the research and data arm of the World Bank.