Skip to main content

Bentley Library Services and Resources for Visitors

Bentley Library Fall 2020 Information

Bentley Library is reopening to current Bentley students, faculty, and staff on September 8 for the Fall 2020 trimester with limited services and occupancy.

We regret that we cannot welcome everyone in person, but at this time only current Bentley students, faculty and staff are allowed in the library. We remain closed to alumni, community users, and visitors until further notice.

Visit our Back to the Bentley Library (Fall 2020) page for more information and the latest news.

Welcome, visitors!

Visitors are welcome at the Bentley Library to use the library’s physical and online services on-site, and to take advantage of other library resources and services as described below.

For Bentley alumni, visit our page for Bentley Library Services and Resources for Alumni:

Hours

The Bentley Library is open daily when classes are in session. Hours are subject to change on holidays, holiday weekends, and when classes are not in session. View the library, Einstein's café, and Help Desk hours calendar online.

Directions and Maps

Bentley Library Building Directory

Directions to Bentley University and Campus Map
All visitors are required to stop at the University Police Department for a parking pass. Parking is free of charge.

Borrowing Privileges

In general, visitors may use items in our collections on-site only. However, certain groups have special borrowing privileges:

  • Waltham residents are eligible for a special borrowing card. Visit our Services for Waltham Residents page for information on how to obtain a card and borrowing periods and fines.
  • Boston Library Consortium card holders may also borrow materials on site with their Boston Library Consortium card and University ID. Visit our Boston Library Consortium page for more information.

It may be possible to borrow Bentley Library materials via your local library's Interlibrary Loan service.

If you have questions about using or borrowing library materials, please contact the Library Services Desk at 781.891.2168 or libraryservices@bentley.edu.

Databases and Online Resources

Visitors are granted access to most of the library's online databases and electronic resources while on campus using a library computer. However, some resources are restricted to current faculty, students, and staff. If you are interested in using a specific database, please contact the Reference Desk at 781.891.2300 or refdesk@bentley.edu before visiting to verify that visitors are permitted on-site access to that resource.  

Licensing agreements prevent the library from providing off-campus database access to users who are not currently Bentley University students, faculty or staff.

Computer and Network Access

Visitors are welcome to use library computers, although priority for computer use is given to current Bentley University students. Computers may not be available for guest use during peak times.

Wireless network access is available via Bentley University’s guest wireless network - Bentley-Guest. Guest network login credentials may be obtained at the Library Services Desk or the Reference Desk.

All guests must adhere to the Bentley University's Acceptable Use Policy when using the guest network or any other Bentley resource.

Printers, Scanners, Copiers and Fax Machine

Black-and-white and color printers are available for use in the library:

  • The current fee for B/W printing is $.05 per single-sided page ($.09 for double-sided).
  • The current fee for color printing is $.24 per single-sided page ($.46 for double-sided).
  • Payment must be made in cash. Please visit the Library Services Desk to inquire about guest printing cards and printing policies.

Scanners, photocopiers and a fax machine are available to use at no cost. Scanned documents can be emailed or saved to a flash drive.

Research Help

Research assistance is available at the Reference Desk and via the library’s Ask a Librarian email, phone, chat and text services. 

Reference Librarian Hours - Academic Semester

  • Monday through Thursday: 8:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
  • Friday: 8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
  • Saturday: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
  • Sunday: 1:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Reference Librarian Hours - Summer

  • Monday through Thursday: 8:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
  • Friday: 8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
  • Saturday: reference desk closed
  • Sunday: 12:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Reference Desk Contact Information

University Archives

Looking for old course descriptions, yearbooks, or student newspapers? You are welcome to view this archival material, but since some of our materials are located off-site, we ask that you call or email at least a week in advance to discuss the material you require. For all Archives inquiries, please contact Project Archivist Jaimie Fritz at 718-891-2269 or jfritz@bentley.edu.

Public Library Resources and Services

Public Libraries: A Non-Student's Best Friend

While the Bentley Library cannot provide every service to visitors that we do to our current faculty, staff and students, we can enthusiastically recommend taking advantage of services and resources at your local public library. In addition to physical book and media collections, public libraries provide databases and electronic resources that can be accessed online using your public library card. Many public libraries also provide meeting rooms, museum passes, technology workshops, and job search resources.

Massachusetts Residents

If you are a Massachusetts resident, you may obtain a borrowing card at your local public library which grants you remote access to research databases, online magazines, newspapers and journals, downloadable eBooks and audiobooks, digital magazines, and streaming media. Visit the Massachusetts Libraries website if you need help locating your local library.

Anyone who lives, works or goes to school in Massachusetts is eligible for a Boston Public Library card, which grants access to the libraries’ collections and spaces. If you are unable to visit the Boston Public Library in person, you may register online for a Boston Public Library eCard (virtual library card), which provides immediate access to all of the Boston Public Library's remotely-accessible electronic resources, including databases, digital magazines, downloadable audio, video, eBooks and music, and streaming media.

You can learn more about BPL library cards at https://www.bpl.org/faq/getting-a-library-card/ and apply for a BPL eCard at https://www.bpl.org/ecard/‚Äč 

Unattended Children Policy

The Bentley University Library provides an environment for academic research and scholarship in support of the academic programs of Bentley University. This environment is not intended for children. The library staff cannot oversee unescorted or unsupervised children.

Children under the age of 14 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian while in the library. Parents and guardians are responsible for the conduct of their children on library premises and must monitor their activities and behavior while they are in the library. Staff cannot assume responsibility for children’s safety and comfort when they are unattended.

If an unaccompanied child is in the library, staff will attempt to find the adult who is responsible for the child and ask that the child be removed. If the adult cannot be located, staff will contact University Police to report the situation and seek assistance.