Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MK342 - Spring 2021 (Gustafson)

This Bentley Library research guide has been prepared for students taking MK342 Advertising with Professor Lee Gustafson during the Spring 2021 trimester.

About Mosaic® USA Consumer Segmentation

Mosaic® USA Consumer Segmentation (via the DemographicsNow database):

Mosaic® USA is a segmentation system developed by Experian that classifies U.S. households into 71 unique types and 19 overarching groups that share similar demographic and socioeconomic characteristics.

Mosaic® USA profiles provide information about the sociodemographics, lifestyles, behaviors, and culture of consumers within each of the 19 groups and 71 segments. Affluence and life stage, combined with property characteristics, socio-economics, ethnicity, additional financial measures, and the type of geographic location (e.g. urban or rural) are key components of the Mosaic classifications.

The library has access to Mosaic® USA in the DemographicsNow database.

Retrieve Mosaic® USA Reports for a Geographic Region

You can use the DemographicsNow database to find the Mosaic® USA household composition of a selected geographic area.

Recommended reports:

  1. Mosaic Household Summary Chart report - displays the number and percentage of households in a geographic area by Mosaic GROUP 
  2. Mosaic Household-Based Summary Index Report -  displays the number and percentage of households in a geographic area by household-based Mosaic CLUSTER. Also provides Index (to the entire U.S.)

Watch this video to learn how!

Access Mosaic® USA Profiles

Find the Mosaic® USA profile descriptions in the DemographicsNow database:

  1. Go to the Demographics Now database
  2. Click on the menu icon in the top right corner 
  3. Click HELP
  4. Scroll down to view [Mosaic USA Details]:
    • You will see links to the 19 Mosaic® USA group profiles and the 71 Mosaic® USA segment descriptions.
    • You can also look at the Grand Index - a statistical report that ranks and indexes more than 600 demographic, psychographic and lifestyle characteristics for each Mosaic group/type.

Important Mosaic® USA Documentation:

  • Mosaic® USA Handbook
    • ​see page 4 for the Mosaic® USA Family Tree. The family tree illustrates the major demographic and lifestyle polarities between the groups and types, and shows how the Mosaic types relate to each other. 
    • see pages 5 & 6 for the group and type structure
  • Mosaic® USA Product Guide
    • See pages 6-9 for some basic guidelines for interpreting the Grand Index and Channel Preferences.