Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MK342 - Spring 2021 (Gustafson)

This Bentley Library research guide has been prepared for students taking MK342 Advertising with Professor Lee Gustafson during the Spring 2021 trimester.

Industry Research Databases

These are the best library resources for retrieving industry surveys and market research reports for most industries. However, please note that databases are often selective in which industries they choose to cover - the industry you are researching may not necessarily appear in every one of the databases listed here!  Please contact the Reference Desk if you need further assistance with identifying which database will contain a survey for the industry you are researching.
  • There are several ways to search for information:
    • In the top navigation bar, click the [Search button] to create detailed custom searches to access specific information. Use either the browse tree or search tree options, select [Categories and Topics], click [Go], then follow the prompts to build a targeted search.
    • In the top navigation bar, hover over [Industries] to select an industry, then use the various filters provided to narrow the search.
    • Use the search box to search the full database by keyword.
    • Use the search tiles on the home page to quickly access datagraphics, statistics, analysis, tools and more
  • Search Tip #1: Use the Advanced Search screen to search for [your topic] AND marketline AND "industry profile".  For example:
    software AND marketline AND "industry profile"
  • Search Tip #2: Click on the [Industry Profiles] link. Select the "View By" [All Profiles] tab. In the search box, type the name of the industry (for example, software) and then select radio button [By Title, Subject and Description]. Click on [Browse].
  • Search Tip: Go to Mergent Intellect and click on [FIRST RESEARCH]. You will be prompted to enter your Bentley email address. Use the search box to search by keyword or industry classification code, or choose to browse the list of industry profiles.
  • Search Tip for industry surveys: There are 2 ways to search:
    • Click on [Industries] in the top menu bar. and use the drop-down box select your industry
      --OR-- 
    • Enter a company's name in the search box, then select [Industry Survey] from the left navigation menu.
  • Search Tip for researching sub-industries:
    • Click the [Markets] tab in the top menu bar. Then, on the far right side of your screen, click on [Refine Industries].
    • In the pop-up box drill-down and check your selected sub-industry, then click [Submit].
    • Use the left hand column for different sets of data on that sub-industry such as key stats & ratios, company level comparisons/financial operating metrics, news, etc.
  • Search Tip: Click on the [Industry Analysis] tab, then select an industry from the list.
  • Search tip: On the D&B Hoover's landing page, select the RESEARCH INDUSTRIES tile.
  • Search Tip: Click on [Industries] and enter a keyword or NAICS code.

Handbooks available:

  • Business-to-Business Marketing
  • Consumer Behavior
  • Consumer Marketing
  • Consumer Use Of The Internet & Mobile Web
  • Entertainment, Media & Advertising Market Research Handbook
  • Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook
  • International Consumer Markets
  • Leisure Business Market Research Handbook
  • Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research Handbook
  • Retail Business Market Research Handbook
  • Sports Marketing
  • Travel & Tourism Market Research Handbook