Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books & Country Histories
The best place to find detailed, in-depth histories of the countries you're researching is in the books in our library's collection. So, if you were comparing and contrasting the governments of Poland and the Czech Republic, you might want to start by looking at the political history of those two countries.
You could try the following searches in the Bentley Library Catalog below:
Poland AND history
Czech AND history
Czechoslovakia AND history
These searches bring up a number of books on the histories of these countries that would provide invaluable information for a paper comparing the two countries' political systems.
You could replicate these searches in the WorldCat Catalog to look for books outside the library's collection on these countries. If you find some books that we don't have in WorldCat that would be useful to you, be sure to request them through Interlibrary Loan.
Use this link to place requests to borrow books, articles, and other materials that Bentley Library does not own. Policies and other FAQs available on this page.
Search for Books Using the Bentley Library Catalog
You can use the library's catalog to find many books and other materials such as videos, government publications, and more.
Searching for Ebooks
Can't make it into the library or want to see all of the options available to you? Try looking at some of our Ebook collections! Some of these books are discoverable in the catalog, but others can only be discovered by searching the databases themselves. Here are some of the best bet places to look for ebooks:
Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Ebook Central (ProQuest) contains the Academic Complete collection: downloadable ebooks, in multiple languages, that encompass areas of the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Academic books, software manuals, language learning materials, and more are included.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
EBSCO eBooks allows users to search, view and print the full text of electronic books.
OverDrive Downloadable Books
Overdrive Downloadable Books provides downloadable eBooks and audiobooks for use with computers, tablets, e-readers, smartphones, mp3 players and iPods. Formats include OverDrive Read, ePub, Kindle, and PDF for ebooks, and mp3 and WMA for audiobooks.
Google Books is a Web archive of digitized books provided through a partnership among Google, libraries and publishers. Free resource.
Tips for Looking at a Book Record in the Library Catalog
Indicated in the image below, there are a couple of sections that are particularly helpful in looking at the book record to see if it is something that might be useful for your project.
- Bibliographic/Citation Information: The section at the top of the book's record will include helpful information such as the book's title, author or editor, publisher, and year of publication.
- Summary/Contents: Further down on the page, under the "Details" heading there are a couple of sections that can be helpful in learning a little more about the book before going to look at it on the shelf. The summary section will contain a quick paragraph describing the contents of the book. Other times, you may see a Contents section will often include chapter titles for the book.
- Subjects: Subjects are assigned to each item in the catalog to describe what the book is about. These can be helpful in a couple of ways - you can actually click on these subjects to find all of the other items in the catalog that also use the same subject heading and these subjects can be helpful in gathering ideas for search terms to use!