Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tips for Searching
You can use the databases below to find articles published in the scholarly and popular press on the politics and governments of countries around the world.
For example, if you were comparing and contrasting the experience of transitioning from communism in Poland and Romania, you might try the following searches:
Poland AND Romania AND transition*
Poland AND Romania AND communis*
Poland AND transition*
Romania AND transition*
Poland AND post-communist
Romania AND post-communist
The *(asterisk) is a truncation symbol. Truncation allows you to search the "root" form of a word with all its different endings by adding a symbol to the end of a word.
So the asterisk after communis* will search for the terms communism and communist.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete contains full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, and others. Contains abstracts, full-text HTML, full-text HTML with graphics, and PDF formats. Coverage is from 1975-present.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library enables users to search periodicals for both peer-reviewed and popular information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. Indexing includes citations/abstracts, full-text HTML, full-text HTML with graphics, and PDF formats. Updated daily.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Coverage is from 1975-present.
JSTOR provides full-text PDF access to scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business. The database is searchable by keyword, item type, publication title, and language, and browsable by discipline and journal issue. Each journal has an individual "moving wall" date of available content; the date range is 0-5 years previous to the current year, depending on the journal.
Project MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. MUSE offers articles in full text (HTML and PDF formats), in a variety of subject areas including economics, education, film, history, literature, philosophy, politics, religion, women's studies and more. Journals can be searched by title, discipline, or collection. Users can also search within the full text of articles or by subject, author, or title.