Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Statesman's Yearbook 2020 by
Call Number: Reference Desk JA51 .S7
The Statesman's Yearbook provides political, cultural, and economic information. Includes information about international organizations as well as country profiles. Country profiles include key statistics and facts, information on historical events, current government & leaders, natural resources, trade, social institutions, and culture. Each profile includes recommended further reading for each country.
Political Handbook of the World 2018-2019 by
Call Number: Reference Desk JF37 .P6 2018/2019 v.1-2
The Political Handbook of the World offers country profiles and information on intergovernmental organizations such as the United Nations, European Union, World Trade Organization, and more. Each country entry is introduced with basic information about the country but focuses on the government and politics of the country providing detailed information about the government's history, current government, and political parties and groups.
Nations of the World 2018 by
Call Number: Reference Desk HC10 .N36
Nations of the World
provides information about the economic and business outlook for each country. Articles provide some key facts and events for each country. Includes information trade, the economy, industries, political climate, and more. Also available online via Salem Press History.
Transformation Index BTI 2018 by
Call Number: Stacks JC489 .B47
The Transformation Index reports on political and economic transformation around the world as well as governance. Findings are also reported out by region. This index is published every 2 years. Also available online.
Bentley Databases and Institutional Websites
Europa World Yearbook
Europa World Yearbook provides profiles of over 250 countries and territories, including extensive sections on political history, foreign affairs, and economic affairs. Directory information on international and country-specific organizations, including government agencies, is also included.
To read detailed reports on virtually all of the world's countries, hover over the Geography link and select the continent or area where the country you're researching is located. Then select the exact country from the list of countries in each continent or area. Click More under Country Report: Outlook for the full report. These reports have political, economic, business, and security sections.
Euromonitor Passport GMID
Enter the name of the country you're researching and country profile into the keyword search box in the upper right corner to find country reports. These reports will have information on the government and political structure of the country, its economic prospects, foreign trade, business environment, and tables with major statistical indicators.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
To find Country Profiles: Click on [Country Reports] on the right side of the landing page. Sources provided within this database include MarketLine In-depth PESTLE Insights (analysis of a country's political, economic, social, technological, legal and environmental structure), Political Risk Yearbook, CountryWatch,and Business Monitor International (BMI).
World Development Indicators (WDI)
A project of the World Bank, this web resource provides data on thousands of development indicators and statistics on most of the countries in the world. Click on the By Country heading and select the countries you're researching from the list.
Published by the CIA, this web resource lists brief but detailed facts on virtually every country in the world. This information is broken up into the categories of people and society, government, economy, energy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. Click the continent where the country you're researching is located on the map and select the country from the list provided.
United Nations Data
This website of the United Nations contains millions of records and statistics on the nations of the world. Do a keyword search using the name of the country you're researching and a type of statistic or topic area, such as Germany population.
OECD Country Profiles
This website of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development has detailed country profiles and statistics on most of the countries in the world. Click on Countries and select the country you're interested in from the alphabetical categories listed. The data is divided into the larger categories of agriculture, development, economy, education, energy, environment, finance, government, health, innovation and technology, jobs, and society.
Global Issues in Context
Click on the World Map heading and select the country you're researching from the list. This will take you to that country on the map. Double click on the red pin to go to a profile of that country which provides a general overview, statistics, reference material, news, and scholarly articles on that country.
BMI Risk Reports
Available through the ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry database, the BMI Risk Reports provide information on the economic outlook, political outlook and ten year forecasts for countries from around the world. Use the "Search Within" box to search for your country's name.