Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GLS102: Comparative Government and Politics
This guide is designed to assist students with their research in GLS102: Comparative Government and Politics.
Places to start exploring ideas and topics:
Academic OneFile contains full-text peer-reviewed content for over 13,000 indexed journals and reference works covering all subjects, including NPR, CNN & CBC transcripts and podcasts.
Each week, the CQ Researcher examines an issue of compelling public interest. All CQ reports include an abstract, chronology, extensive bibliography and notes, and an outlook. A sidebar includes reports related to the latest topic, and the full text of past reports can be searched via the CQ search function or the cumulative index.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context covers social and political issues with access to primary and secondary source material including journal articles, national and global news sources, pro/con viewpoint essays, videos, podcasts, and more. Includes full-text access to the Opposing Viewpoints book series.
Global Issues in Context
Global Issues in Context integrates news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics and more to explain the historical and contemporary conditions necessary to understand global issues, conflicts and events.
World News Digest
World News Digest is a domestic and international news database covering all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. World News Digest is updated twice weekly and includes a searchable hourly newsfeed. Its internal hyperlinks allow researchers to follow a story ahead and back in time, and lead to just the background information they need to understand its significance.
Ways to Get Help & Contact Information
Reference Librarians can assist with:
- Locating information both within and outside the Bentley Library
- Recommending search tools
- Developing a research strategy
- Evaluating sources
- Citing sources
You can get research help from a librarian in the following ways - no appointment needed!
Research Consultations: Research Help by Appointment
Research Consultations are scheduled one-on-one meetings with a reference librarian. You can also schedule these consultations for a small group. Consultations usually last 30 minutes and take place during Reference Librarian Hours. 48 hours advanced notice required.