LibGuides: Genealogical Research: Immigration

Immigration Records

Ellis Island - Advanced Passenger Search
Search arrivals from 1892-1924 by many parameters, including ethnicity. You can also search "sounds like" variations of last names. Free registration required to view results.
Genealogy at USCIS
The USCIS Genealogy Program is a fee-for-service program that provides researchers with timely access to historical immigration and naturalization records of deceased immigrants.
Passenger Manifests - Boston 1848-1891
Searchable database of immigrants who arrived in the port of Boston by ship, from the Massachusetts Archives. The collection is in the process of being digitized; contact the Archives if you don't find the name you're looking for.
more...less...
"Massachusetts officials started recording the names of immigrants who arrived by ship in January of 1848, a procedure which continued until July of 1891, when federal records-keeping programs superseded those of the state. Although immigrants arrived at numerous Massachusetts ports, the Archives holds manifests for BOSTON ONLY." (from the site)

The official record of arrivals to the United States before 1 July 1924 is a Passenger List or Manifest. These records are accessible through NARA or subscription-based websites. Bentley Library provides free access to Ancestry.
For arrivals between 1924-1951, records can be found via NARA or USCIS.
All records after 1951 are in A-Files through the United States Citizenship & Immigration Service.

A Naturalization Petition.