Financial Ratios: Definitions & Formulas

In addition to the data (which is available online in Mergent Archives), the CMDITY Yearbook (published every year) provides definitions in the first chapter and you can look at older issues to see how the definitions have changed over time.

Includes nearly 250 operational criteria with clear, easy-to-understand explanations that can be used right away. This Third Edition includes approximately fifty new ratios and formulas, as well as new chapters covering ratios and formulas for e-commerce and human resources.

Includes more than 5,000 terms related to stocks, bonds, mutual funds, banking, tax laws, and transactions in the various financial markets. Readers will also find a helpful list of financial abbreviations and acronyms, as well as illustrative diagrams and charts.

Covers accounting, management, marketing, law, finance, and economics. All the entries are cross-referenced and include bibliographies offering print resources and web sites. Of note are the entries on Financial Literacy, Financial Statement Analysis & Financial Statements.

Provides a concise explanation of the metric's importance; the question it helps to answer; the information required and its use within the ratio or formula; the associated cost and effort of collecting the data; and an excellent example and illustration of the computation.

Each chapter defines the ratios and gives hypothetical examples, calculations, and conclusions. Terms defined include overhead, cash flow, leverage, equity, recapitalization, and turnover.

Contains over 100 financial ratios and other useful calculations. Available online though Skillport. Click through to the "electronic version" then use your Bentley email address and network password to access this resource.

Includes over 100 formulas and ratios with numerical examples, spreadsheet entries, and step-by-step calculations. Available online though Skillport.