HI374: History of Medicine (Andrews)

Academic OneFile contains full-text peer-reviewed content for over 13,000 indexed journals and reference works covering all subjects, including NPR, CNN & CBC transcripts and podcasts.

Academic Search Complete provides coverage in the fields of Arts and Entertainment, Business, Communications, Education, General Interest, Health and Medicine, History, Home and Living, Literature and Writing, Politics and Government, Religion and Philosophy, Science, Social Sciences and Humanities, Sports and Leisure, and Technology. It includes access to over 9,000 full-text journals, with 7,800 of them peer-reviewed. Formats include articles, books, conference proceedings, reports and more.

Accessible Archives contains 18th- and 19th-century primary source materials related to American history. In addition to general historical topics, specific collections include African-American newspapers, the Civil War, and women's suffrage. The works are presented as HTML full text and/or images.

Ancestry Library includes information on individuals from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and other countries. It contains billions of records in censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, court and legal documents, directories, family and gravestone photos, and more. Also included are an extensive collection of military records, and multimedia such as newsreels and maps.

Coronavirus Research Database (ProQuest) contains journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and other materials related to coronaviruses. In addition to current information about COVID-19, it includes coverage of past coronavirus outbreaks, such as MERS and SARS, for context surrounding the current global pandemic. All materials are open access.

JSTOR provides full-text PDF access to scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business. The database is searchable by keyword, item type, publication title, and language, and browsable by discipline and journal issue. Each journal has an individual "moving wall" date of available content; the date range is 0-5 years previous to the current year, depending on the journal.

New York Times Historical offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital PDF reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage: 1851-2021.

Project MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. MUSE offers articles in full text (HTML and PDF formats), in a variety of subject areas including economics, education, film, history, literature, philosophy, politics, religion, women's studies and more. Journals can be searched by title, discipline, or collection. Users can also search within the full text of articles or by subject, author, or title.

ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Coverage is from 1905-present.

The SAGE Sociology Collection includes peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies. This collection covers such subjects as childhood, contemporary, comparative and classical sociology, consumer culture, ethnic, gender, leisure, and labor studies, social theory and the sociology of sport.

Wall Street Journal Historical offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage: July 8, 1889-Dec 31, 2013.

Web of Science (Core Collection) provides citations for scholarly articles from over 20,000 worldwide journals (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Though this database does not contain the full text of articles, many citations include abstracts. Access to the InCites module is not part of the Bentley subscription. Users with individual accounts need to search at least once every six months to keep the account active.

World News Digest is a domestic and international news database covering all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. World News Digest is updated twice weekly and includes a searchable hourly newsfeed. Its internal hyperlinks allow researchers to follow a story ahead and back in time, and lead to just the background information they need to understand its significance.