Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EXP202: Expository Writing (Wright)

This guide has been created to provide you with the resources and tools for you succeed in your research endeavors in your Expository Writing course.

Suggested Databases

Tips for Searching in Article Databases

While article databases may vary in interface and "look and feel", most will have similar functionality. The following example is from a search in Academic Search Complete (EBSCO).

Most article databases will feature search boxes separated by the “AND” Boolean operator (AND is usually the default, but you can choose OR or NOT as well). See Search Tips for Searching Library Databases.

 

Begin by entering your search terms. Remember: the more search terms you use, the more focused your results are going to be.

 

Also note: you can control where your search terms appear in the documents you search (e.g. “title”, “text”, “abstract”, etc.)

 

Once you click “Search”, a list of sources will appear with options to limit your results.

 

1. Number of results returned. Filtering further will make this number smaller.

2. Limit to “Full Text” for only sources you have full-text access to.

3. Limit to “Scholarly Journals” for only sources considered “peer-reviewed”.

4. Limit by “Publication Date” for only sources within a defined date range.

5. Limit by “Source Type” for only sources by a defined type.

 

Once you select a source from the results, you will be brought to that source’s entry in the database containing the abstract and a link to full-text access if available.

 

You will also see options from saving this source.

You can:

  • Send to Google Drive.
  • Print the article.
  • Email the article to yourself.
  • Export to a citation management tool.
  • Create and stable URL to access later.

Search Beyond Bentley Library

Google Scholar will allow you to search outside of the library's databases to find information, however not all information you find will be freely available. You can configure Google Scholar to link to Bentley Library's holdings should those articles be available in our collections - visit the Remote Access to Google Scholar research guide for details. 

Google Scholar Search

Getting the Full text through Bentley databases.

Using the Journal Finder Search (Watch Time: 1 minute 11 seconds)

Use the Bentley Library Journal Finder Search to locate specific magazines, newspapers, and journals within our library databases.

Use Interlibrary Loan to get the full text beyond Bentley.

The COVID-19 pandemic makes the lending of physical library materials between libraries difficult in addition to longer delivery times. As such, we strongly recommend requesting just book chapters if you do not need to consult the entire book. The scans will be delivered electronically and in a timely manner.  Please remember that copyright limits do apply for these requests. No more than 10% of a work can be scanned for Interlibrary Loan and Scan on Demand requests. View the Bentley University Copyright Policy for more information.

Please contact the Interlibrary Loan department via email (interlibloan@bentley.edu) with any questions.