In response to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the Census Bureau developed and fielded an entirely new survey intended to measure the effect on small businesses. The Small Business Pulse Survey (SBPS) will run weekly from April 26 to June 27, 2020. Results from the SBPS will be published weekly through a visualization tool with downloadable data.
An annual portrait of each state’s small businesses. They gather the latest federal data into state-by-state snapshots of small business health and economic activity. Limited economic data is also provided for the U.S. territories. Source of more up-to-date data than "Small Business Economy: A report to the President."
The ReferenceUSA database contains detailed company descriptions, corporate family trees, management directories, and competitor information for more than 20 million U.S. businesses. ReferenceUSA enables users to conduct a custom search to help identify and compare companies. Custom search options include business type, geography, business size and ownership type. One Advanced Search example: All businesses in a 30 mile radius of Zip code 01749 then view Custom report to look for specific industries to target.
Demographics Now is a comprehensive business research tool. Users can compare the demographics and market potential of United States geographies, produce comprehensive business lists and utilize a unique mapping tool that ‘visualizes’ trends. One search example: All businesses in a x mile radius of Zip code 01749 then view them and/or take a look at the Business Comparison Report under the demographics tab.
Customer Analysis -- Recommended Databases for B to C
Demographics Now is a comprehensive business and residential research tool. Users can compare the demographics and market potential of United States geographies, produce comprehensive business/residential lists and detailed demographic reports, and utilize a unique mapping tool that ‘visualizes’ trends. Provides access to MOSAIC USA consumer profiles.
Mintel offers market research reports covering U.S. and International marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, market share analysis and consumer profiles. Reports of interest may include: topics like fast food or restaurants, smart homes, homeowners, energy, covid, etc.
Mediamark/MRI+ University Internet Reporter contains a collection of local and national market datasets offering comprehensive demographic, lifestyle, product usage, and media data. MRI+ PocketPiece provides demographic, circulation, and audience data on selected consumer and trade magazines. The database is limited to 20 simultaneous users. New users must register for an account using a Bentley University email address; existing users must re-register when prompted. Please email email@example.com from your Bentley email address to receive the registration code.