While you can search for articles using the Bentley Library Search, searching directly in databases can often help you search more efficiently as they offer more tools to filter your results.
The following databases can be considered "Best Bets" starting points for researching topics you will be exploring in this class:
JSTOR provides full-text PDF access to scholarly journals in Arts and Sciences and Business. The database is searchable by keyword, item type, publication title, and language, and browsable by discipline and journal issue. Each journal has an individual "moving wall" date of available content; the date range is 0-5 years previous to the current year, depending on the journal.
Find more databases by visiting our complete Databases A-Z list and use the Subjects tool to filter the list by subject area. Some filters that may be of interest:
You can use the databases below to find articles published in the scholarly and popular press on your topics.
Use some of the search tips below to help you construct searches with your key terms.
Boolean Search Terms
Use Boolean terms AND, OR, and NOT to connect multiple search terms (i.e. technology AND "public policy") to better focus your search. The way that you connect the search terms will impact the results that are returned in the search tool.
AND will return results that include both search terms you enter. OR will return results that mention either of the search terms you enter. Using NOT will exclude search results based on a specific term.
Phrase Searching
Does one of your search terms contain multiple words? Use quotation marks around the search term to ensure that those words are searched together as a phrase. For example, putting the phrase "social media" in quotes will return results that mention those two words together.
Truncation Searching
Many search tools let you utilize what is known as truncation searching, often represented in a search tool by an asterisk*. Use this option to help search for variants of a word at the same time. Truncation allows you to search the "root" form of a word with all its different endings by adding a symbol to the end of a word. For example, searching for child* will search for child, children, childhood, etc. at the same time!
If you find an article that Bentley does not have access to but would like to consider it for your research, you may be able to obtain it through Interlibrary Loan: