LibGuides: HNR440: Fall 2023 (Flynn): Start Here! Running Participation & Running Footwear Sales

SFIA Reports

These two reports from the Sports and Fitness Industry Association (SFIA) are posted in Brightspace:

2023 SFIA Topline Participation Report
- This report provides an overview of sports and activity participation trends, inactivity levels, and aspirational participation.
2023 SFIA Manufacturers’ Sales by Category Report
- This report provides a topline look at wholesale dollar sales data of major categories that make up the sports and fitness industry.

RIDC Reports

These three reports from the Running Industry Diversity Coalition (RIDC) are posted in Brightspace:

The Future of Running
Racial Diversity and the Business of Running
Racial Diversity in Trail Running

Sports Market Analytics (SMA) database

Sports Market Analytics (SBRNet) This link opens in a new window
Sports Market Analytics (SBRnet) is an online international sport marketing and business information provider focusing on sport participation, fan profiles, sports facilities, sport finance, sporting goods, sponsorship, marketing, media, and directions.

Sports Participation Data: Choose "Running" from the "Sports" drop-down list in the top navigation bar, or click the link for participation data on the left side of the screen.
- Participation data is available from the SFIA for CORE Participants and CASUAL Participants segmented by age, gender, household income, and geographic region.

Statista database

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a portal for quantitative data, statistics and related information.

Start with this recommended report and also explore the database for additional current statistics on running:

Running & jogging in the US

Euromonitor database

Euromonitor Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor provides business intelligence on selected consumer products and services industries, countries, consumers and companies.
Registration required: Users will now have to fill out a short registration form the first time they access Euromonitor. Faculty & Staff members please list your department under "Course".

Recommended report: If you are prompted to login to Euromonitor, choose the "Single Sign On" option, then use your Bentley email address.

Footwear in the US - Country Report (June 2023)
- While this report is not specifically for running or athletic footwear, it does provide some insight and analysis into that market. It also provides a glimpse at the competitive landscape, brand shares, and retail channel distribution.

Trade Associations, Professional Associations, and Other Organizations

Trade associations and professional organizations can be excellent sources for news, insights, reports, and data (although some information may only be available to members). Here are a few sources to get you started. Conduct your own internet research to see what else you can find. Don't forget to critically evaluate the sources you use.

Recommended reading:

UQ 2022 Datapoints: Year in review
From Upper Quadrant in partnership with the Running Industry Association. Published November 29, 2022. Presents a variety of data, charts, and infographics.
Fast fashion
This post on RunningInsight.com by Beth Goldstein discusses factors impacting the running footwear market in 2023. Published May 5, 2023.
RIA retailer survey results: Part 1
From the Running Industry Association. Published August 1, 2023.
“In the first of a three-part series detailing RIA member’s thoughts on the business climate in the Run Specialty Channel, we’re taking a look at how business is shaping up as we pass the halfway mark in 2023 and look to close out another record year of growth.”
Running consumers know what they want
From sportsstyle magazine. Pages 46-50. Published May/June 2023.
"In our latest consumer survey, we asked runners questions about a variety of different topics, ranging from when they run, how often they run, what products they prefer, and what impacts their purchasing decisions."

Trade Associations & Publications to Bookmark and Follow:

FN (Footwear News)
"FN is the publication of record for senior footwear and fashion executives and a must-read for shoe-obsessed consumers. Since 1945, top CEOs, brand leaders, retailers and designers from the fashion world and beyond have turned to FN for breaking news, analysis and must-read profiles on the most powerful people in the footwear industry. In addition to business and industry content, the publication covers sneaker news and releases, celebrity style and fashion trends that rule the streets, runway and red carpet."
FN (Footwear News) - articles tagged "running"
This link retrieves Footwear News posts tagged as "running"
Running Industry Association
"The Running Industry Association (RIA) is a non-profit organization that supports the brick and mortar running retail channel throughout the United States and Canada."
Running Industry Diversity Coalition
"The RIDC is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable organization that unites the running industry by providing resources, measuring progress, and holding the industry accountable to equitable employment, leadership, and ownership positions and improving the inclusion, visibility, and access for Black, Indigenous, and other people of color (BIPOC)."
Running Insight
Source of running industry news. "Featured content highlights retail profiles, business analysis, new product information, trend reports, and so much more." "Running Insight is produced by Diversified Communications, producers of The Running Event, Switchback at The Running Event, and Best Running Stores."
Running USA
"Running USA is a non-profit organization committed to the growth and success of the running industry."