GB214 Team Project Library Research Guide

The first step to beginning the research for the Integration Assignment is to compile background information about the company and product/service.

Listed in the boxes below are the best resources for your first assignment: 

1. Public Company Filings: 10-K annual report
2. SWOT reports
3. Company, Industry & Market Research databases
4. Company website

Public companies are required to file financial information with the SEC. Each year a public company will produce a 10-K annual report.*  This report provides valuable information that goes beyond the balance sheet and income statements. Usually, the entire year is recapped and you will learn about the external and internal forces affecting the company.

Read the 10-K closely, especially these two sections:

1. Item 1: Business
2. Item 7: Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations ("MD&A") 

Here are few places to get a company's 10-K:

1. The "Investor" section of the company's web site
2. Library database: Mergent Intellect
3. Library database: Mergent Online (Tip: Select "Government Filings", then search for a company)
4. EDGAR Company Filings database from the U.S. Security and Exchange Commission

*Note: A foreign company (a "foreign private issuer") that trades in the United States files a Form 20-F annual report. A foreign company files a 20-F if 50% or less of its outstanding voting securities are held by U.S. investors; once a company crosses that threshold it must file the same SEC forms as a U.S. company.

These library databases contain company SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) analysis and reports. SWOT reports are typically available for public companies and may be available for large private companies. If you cannot locate a SWOT report for your company in any of these databases please ask a librarian for assistance.

• Search Tip: 

1. Type a company name or ticker symbol into the search box and choose a company from the list of suggestions to retrieve a company profile. 
2. If a SWOT report is available for the company it will appear on the company profile page. Click the "Read full SWOT Analysis" button to access the report.

• Search Tip: 

1. On the right side of the screen, click on the [SWOT Analysis] link.
2. Enter the company name in the search box and click [Browse].
3. Locate your company in the list and click on on the name of the company.
4. On the right side of the screen, choose a date and open the report.

• Search tip: 

1. Select the Investext tab
2. Select a date range or choose "no date range" to see all dates
3. Click the + symbol next to COMPANY, enter the company name or ticker symbol, then click [submit].
4. Next, click the + symbol next to KEYWORD, select "search whole report" from the drop-down, enter the word SWOT, then click [submit].
5. If the search has results, click View to see them. Typically, SWOT reports from GlobalData and MarketLine will be retrieved.

These databases are the best starting points for company, market and industry research.

• Search Tip 1: Get a company profile:
  • Type a company name or ticker symbol into the search box and choose a company from the list of suggestions to retrieve a company profile. The profile may include financial information, SWOT report, company chronology, market share information, rankings, industry reports, articles about the company/industry, and more.
• Search Tip 2: Identify competitors:
  • Option 1: Type a NAICS code into the search box and choose an industry from the list of suggestions to retrieve an industry profile. A list of top companies ranked by revenue (globally) will appear on the profile page. Use the drop-down at the top of the list to change the geographic area.
  • Option 2: Click "Browse" in the navigation bar, then select "Industries". Choose an industry from the list. A list of top companies ranked by revenue (globally) will appear on the industry profile page. Use the drop-down at the top of the list to change the geographic area.
• Search Tip 3: Get industry reports/overviews:
  • Option 1: Type a company name or ticker symbol into the search box and choose a company from the list of suggestions to retrieve a company profile. Scroll to the "Industry" section to see which industries the company operates in. Click on a NAICS code to retrieve the industry profile. Scroll to the "Industry Reports" section of the industry profile and explore the available reports.
  • Option 2: Type a NAICS code into the search box and choose an industry from the list of suggestions to retrieve an industry profile. Scroll to the "Industry Reports" section of the industry profile and explore the available reports.
  • Option 3: Click "Browse" in the navigation bar, then select "Industries". Choose an industry from the list to retrieve the industry profile. Scroll to the "Industry Reports" section of the industry profile and explore the available reports.

• Search tip: Use the search box or browse the list of NAICS codes to retrieve an industry report for the industry your company operates within.

• Company Profiles Search Tip: Find a MarketLine Company Profile.

1. On the right side of the screen, click on the [Company Profiles] link.  
2. Enter the company name in the search box and click [Browse].
3. Locate your company in the list and click on [MarketLine Report].
    

• Industry Profiles Search Tip: Find a MarketLine Industry Profile, which will include a Five Forces Analysis.
  • Use the Advanced Search screen to search for [your topic] AND marketline AND "industry profile".
    For example: software AND marketline AND "industry profile"
    ----OR----
  • On the right side of the screen, click on the [Industry Profiles] link. Select the "View By" [All Profiles] tab. In the search box, type the name of the industry (for example, software) and then select radio button [By Title, Subject and Description]. Click on [Browse].

Most company web sites are structured to provide key pieces of valuable information. Check for:

1. ABOUT US: Company history; corporation overview, fact sheets; FAQs
2. MEDIA, PRESS ROOM, or PUBLIC RELATIONS: Current news and press releases can provide the most up-to-date information about what's happening with the company and its products.
3. INVESTORS: Annual reports, financials, corporate governance information [Note: Financial information will only be available if it is a public company.]
4. ENVIRONMENT/SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY/COMMUNITY RELATIONS: Some companies will include information about their social responsibility initiatives.
5. CAREERS: Sometimes this section will contain information about a company's values or mission.
6. PRODUCTS: Browse the web site to learn more about the company's products.  Check the retail price.  What products or services are they highlighting? What do you notice about how the product or service is presented or promoted?