It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GB214 Team Project Library Research Guide
This Bentley Library research guide has been designed to assist you with your Value Creation Team Project.
The resources listed here are the library's top industry research databases. Industry surveys provide information and analysis that will further your understanding of the company you are researching. Industry surveys provide perspective on how the industry as a whole is structured, how it operates, and who the key players are. They will often also describe external drivers, current performance and future trends.
Search Tip: There are many different search options available on the main landing page. No matter which search path you follow, we recommend that you start with those reports classified as Category Briefing or Industry Overview, then look at related statistics, opinion pieces, datagraphics, etc. Try these different search paths:
Use the search box to keyword search the full database for data and analysis.
In the top navigation bar, click on [Industries] to select an industry, then use the [Explore Analysis] and [Explore Statistics] filters to narrow the search.
Note: When choosing an analysis type, start with a Country Report (if available), then explore the other types of analysis.
Use the [Search Categories] option to browse the category tree using a drill-down menu and then choose a geography.
Search Tip 1: Use the Advanced Search screen to search for [your topic] AND marketline AND "industry profile". For example:
software AND marketline AND "industry profile"
Search Tip 2: Click on the [Industry Profiles] link. Select the "View By" [All Profiles] tab. In the search box, type the name of the industry (for example, software) and then select radio button [By Title, Subject and Description]. Click on [Browse].
Mergent Intellect provides access to First Research industry profiles for the United States and Canada.
Search Tip: Go to Mergent Intellect and click on [FIRST RESEARCH]. You will be prompted to enter your Bentley email address. Use the search box to search by keyword or industry classification code, or choose to browse the list of industry profiles.
Statista is a statistics portal, aggregating data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. Statista categorizes data into 21 market sectors — including, E-Commerce, Consumer Goods, Media & Advertising, and Technology & Communications. In addition to statistics, this database includes industry reports and dossiers.
Focusing on digital marketing, advertising, media and ecommerce, eMarketer aggregates information from over 4,000 sources. eMarketer access includes: reports & analysis; data; media trends; consumer demographics and behavior; device usage; and company data (ad spending, social media stats, ecommerce sales, store productivity, revenues and more). Coverage extends across 100 countries, including proprietary metrics for 40 core countries.
SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) covers all facets of the sports industry and professional, college and consumer sports markets. Information includes sport participation, fan profiles, sports facilities, sport finance, sales of sporting goods and apparel, sponsorship, marketing, media, brand share and social media usage.
Specialized Sources - Technology Industries
These two specialized databases are useful for researching technology-related industries and markets.
Forrester Research provides timely, in-depth reports and other materials to business, marketing and IT professionals on customer experience, e-business, enterprise architecture, operations and more. Click the Log In link and enter a full Bentley email address to gain access.
Gartner Group provides research and analysis on the global IT industry. This database includes research reports, current news, trends, company information and product information. Please Note: Both on-campus and off-campus users will be prompted to enter a Bentley user name and password to access the Gartner database.
Search Tip: Bentley University does not have access to the entire Gartner database. Users may want to do an [Advanced Search] and select the limiter [Research I Own].