This guide will assist you with your GB320 Project. It provides a starting point for conducting the secondary research necessary to complete your first assignment. Please examine all of the recommended sources carefully.
Start with the Read Me First materials. Further research the competitors through their company websites and through article searching. Please review the Article Databases -- Keeping Current when you need to start this step.
Demographics Now is a comprehensive business and residential research tool. Users can compare the demographics and market potential of United States geographies, produce comprehensive business/residential lists and detailed demographic reports, and utilize a unique mapping tool that ‘visualizes’ trends. After choosing Geography, explore the People/Business area to generate listings of companies.
PrivCo provides private company financial data including M&A activity, investor information, private equity and venture capital data. It covers over 225,000 private companies, 11,000 investors, and over 80,000 private market M&A deals and funding rounds. Database strengths include the ability to search by niche industry for private companies, and to find specific investors for targeted industries.
D&B Million Dollar Directory, provided by Mergent, combines complete coverage on all businesses in the U.S. and Canada with $9 million+ sales or 180+ total employees, plus branches with 900+ employees. Business profiles on firms in over 200 countries worldwide are also included. Company information includes industry SIC code, number of employees at this location, annual sales, type of ownership, principal executives and biographies.
The ReferenceUSA database contains detailed company descriptions, corporate family trees, management directories, and competitor information for more than 20 million U.S. businesses. ReferenceUSA enables users to conduct a custom search to help identify and compare companies. Custom search options include business type, geography, business size and ownership type.
Competitor Analysis -- Just a few links to get you started.