Skip to main content

GB320:Coffee - (Spring 2019) Sections 007, 008, 009, 010, 011 & 012 (Flynn, Grusby, Sambare, Young & Morin)

This guide will assist you with your GB320 Project. It provides a starting point for conducting the secondary research necessary to complete your first assignment. Please examine all of the recommended sources carefully.

Customer Analysis -- Recommended Databases

Demographics Now (More information)

DemographicsNow

Use DemographicsNow to get

  • Complete Demographic Comparison Report,
  • Consumer Expenditure Restaurant Detail Comparison,
  • Daytime Population Comparison Report,
  • Mosaic Comparison Report,
  • Simmons Lifestyle Demographics & Statements Comparison Report,
  • & Business Comparison reports.

Create summary, comparison or ranking reports for different geographic locations including a 1 radius of a specfic address.

About MosaicUSA Consumer Segmentation: The DemographicsNow database contains MosaicUSA consumer segmentation profiles. MosaicUSA describes/classifies American consumers in 71 types and 19 overarching groupings that share similar demographic and socioeconomic characteristics. Get detailed information about the sociodemographics, lifestyles, behaviors and culture of consumers within each of the 19 groups and 71 segements. For an overview of MosaicUSA, take a look at the MosaicUSA Guide and the MosaicUSA Handbook.

Find the MosaicUSA profile descriptions in DemographicsNow:

  1. go to the Demographics Now database
  2. click on the menu icon in the top right corner 
  3. click HELP
  4. scroll down to view [Mosaic USA Details]. You will see links to the 19 MosaicUSA group profiles and the 71 MosaicUSA segment descriptions.

About Simmons National Consumer Study gathers information on the lifestyles, media habits and product/brand preferences of American families. More information about Simmons is available in DemographicsNow:

  1. go to the Demographics Now database
  2. click on the menu icon in top right corner 
  3. click HELP
  4. scroll to Data Methodology Documents > Simmons Help Documentation. You can also learn about the study at https://www.simmonsresearch.com/solutions/consumer-analytics/national-consumer-insights/ 

Mediamark (More information)

Mediamark Reporter

Demographic, lifestyle, product usage & media data based on survey of over 27,000 consumers. Note: The database is limited to 20 simultaneous users. If you experience an "at capacity" message, please try using the database at another time.

Create a Mediamark University Internet Reporter Account: To use Mediamark you must create an account using your Bentley email address. 

Registration Steps:

  1. Go to the Mediamark home page and click [Register].
  2. Enter your name and your Bentley University email address. A Bentley email address is required for proper authentication.
  3. After registering, you will receive a password validation email from clientservices@gfkmri.com. You must click the activation link in the email within 3 days to activate your account and set up your password. (Please note that it can take a few minutes for the link to be scanned by Bentley's virus checker before you'll be able to click it).
  4. After clicking the activation link, you will be able to create your own password to access Mediamark University Internet Reporter. The password must be between 8-16 characters in length and have at least one alphabetic character and one numeric digit.
  5. After all these steps have been completed, proceed to Mediamark Reporter to begin using the database.

Mediamark Reporter Help:

How to Read a Mediamark Report
This one page PDF explains how to interpret data in a Mediamark report.

Mediamark University Internet Reporter Tutorial
This 15 page PDF document explains how to use the Mediamark University Internet Reporter.

How to Change Default Target Settings
This document provides instructions for adding ALL available targets to your default target settings.

How to Use the Mediamark database
This series of Video Tutorials is brought to you by Western Washington University librarian, Elizabeth Stephan. 

Mediamark Reporter/MRI+ User Guide Definitions
A guide to commonly used terms in the Mediamark/MRI+ databases.

Mediamark Survey of the American Consumer Questionnaires, Technical Guides and Codebooks
View the personal interview questionnaire, product booklet, technical guide (which includes methodology), and codebook (which lists all the variables that are measured and any associated disclosures or explanatory information) used for each survey.

Claritas 360 (Neilson Segmentation & Market Solutions) **Works with Google Chrome** (More information)

To get to this database:

  • Click the link to Claritas 360 (Nielsen Segmentation & Market Solutions) above. This will bring you to the SRDS platform.
  • Click the link to Claritas 360.
  • The home page for Claritas 360 has a number of help and tutorial features you will want to explore.
  • When you're ready to enter the database, click the Login to Claritas 360.

To use this database:

You will be brought to the main dashboard page.

One way to use this database is to click on the first orange icon = My Best Segments. Then use the Zip Code Lookup to see the top five segments in a zipcode. Click on a PRIZM Premier report for more information about each of these consumer types.

A second way to use this database is to compile a report from scratch, start by clicking on Reports.

There are multiple report options to choose from. If you click the "?" icon you can go to the Claritas360 Knowledge Center to find out more about each report can do, options available, data explanations, and how various measures are calculated. The Walkthrough Repository can help you set up a report with selections to get the desired output.

As an example, take a look at how the Claritas Pop-Facts Demographic Report could be set up. After setting up and submitting a report, the actual report/job takes a few minutes to run and then you would access it under the orange My Jobs icon at the top of the screen.

Make sure to save the resulting output to your laptop for off site analysis.

Important: We share one account at Bentley. All jobs created will show up under the orange My Jobs icon at the top of the screen. You can export the report directly to Excel to save on your computer and share with your group members.