Skip to main content

GB320 Fall 2018, Sections 004, 005, 006, 007, 008, 009 (Aroian, Matthews, Zampello, Tracey) Corporate Snacks: Articles and Trade Publications

A Note About Articles in the Business Press

The databases included on this page of the GB 320 research guide will provide users with access to the business press.  While many of the resources provided on this guide point to tabular information and indexes to provide numbers and information regarding the online learning market place, both nationally and locally, the information provided for in articles from newspapers and magazines should not be overlooked. Users of this guide should take a moment read about Boolean Searching and develop some keyword terms before they begin the search process.   Please remember to properly cite information found in the course of your research.  Visit the Bentley Library's Citing Sources research guides for help.

Recommended Databases

The following databases include business news and information.  Please see the Keywords and Operators box below as a starting point for building a search strategy.

Keywords and Operators

The Library's databases may have different interfaces, but they do share basic search principles.  Some of these principles are listed below.   It is important to look for the "Advanced Search" option of the database as it offers you greater control over the construction of your search.  The advanced search interface for most library database will usually display options for the following:

 

Boolean Searching: 

Boolean Searching is the cornerstone to an effective search strategy.  Boolean searching refers to searching using a combination of words and the three Boolean Operators: AND, OR, NOT.

  • AND will make your search smaller.  If you are retrieving too many records on your topic, try adding another search term with the operator AND.   For example: "digital scanning" and "mobile phones"
  • OR will make your search bigger. If you are retrieving too few records on your topic, try adding another search term with the operator OR.     Examples: "apps" or "mobile apps"
  •  NOT will exclude a word from your search results.  If you are retrieving too many records on an unrelated topic, try eliminating a word with the operator NOT.   For example:  "mobile application"  not  "mobile apps"

Phrase Searching: 

To search for two or more words in the exact order in which they are entered you should enclose the phrase in quotation marks "  ".     

Examples: "Mobile aaplication", "Medical Devices", "Digital scanning"

 

Truncation:  

Truncation allows you to search the "root" form of a word with all its different endings by adding a symbol to the end of a word.  Truncation symbols vary by database (check the help screens or ask a Librarian), but are usually one of the below:

* (asterisk)             ! (exclamation point)               ? (question mark)

For example: cell*  will search for cellular and cells

 

Field Searching & Limiters: 

Each database has a variety of predefined fields or limiters that you can search within.  Some examples of fields and limiters are:

article title              article abstract                        article text                   author

publication title      geographical location  company name                       product name

ticker symbol                    NAICS/SIC Codes      date                             document type

publication type     scholarly or peer-reviewed

 

Subject Guide

Stephen Tracey's picture
Stephen Tracey
Contact:
Bentley University Library
175 Forest Street
Waltham, MA 02452
781.891.2302
Website