Business Insights: Essentials provides in-depth information on U.S. and international businesses, industries and products. Included are company and industry profiles, financial data, investment reports, business periodicals, interactive charting and comparison tools, and more.
Business Source Complete provides coverage in business disciplines including marketing, management, management information systems, production and operations management, accounting, finance and economics. It includes full text for more than 3600 journals, including 1900 peer-reviewed titles. Also included are full-text case studies, company and industry profiles, country reports, executive and analyst interviews, market research reports and SWOT analyses.
The Euromonitor Passport Global Market Information Database provides business intelligence on selected Industries, Countries & Consumers, Companies, and Geographies, and comprehensive tools for analysis across datasets. Each category includes in-depth reports, analyst comments, statistics and external sources. New reports, analyses and comments are added daily, while industry reports are updated annually. Historical and forecasted date coverage varies by country, within a broad range of 1977 to five-year projections.
Lexis-Nexis Academic is a collection of full-text database files covering the subject areas of law, business and current events. Users may search news sources including regional, national, foreign, and international publications and wire services; research state and federal cases by topic, involved parties, or citation; search law reviews; search company profile and dossier information by company name or ticker symbol; research country profiles, risk information, and news; or search for biographical and news information on public figures. In addition to searching within these individual modules, users may combine module elements, or use a directory browse structure to customize searches by source type.
Plunkett Research Online (PRO) offers industry/market trends and statistics for 28 unique industry groupings, company profiles, a directory of professional organizations, and information useful for job searching. Users also can search and print Plunkett's proprietary Industry Almanacs. Data is updated weekly and easily printable. Thousands of company profiles can be searched by company name or keywords.
PrivCo provides private company financial data including M&A activity, investor information, private equity and venture capital data. It covers over 225,000 private companies, 11,000 investors, and over 80,000 private market M&A deals and funding rounds. Database strengths include the ability to search by niche industry for private companies, and to find specific investors for targeted industries.
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage provides access to S&P's Company and Industry Surveys, Stock Guides, Dividend Records, Mutual Fund Ratings, Corporation Records and much more. Industry surveys are updated twice yearly and provide key data on more than 50 industries from Health Care to Telecommunications.
ReferenceUSA contains detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses. ReferenceUSA records contain contact information, corporation information, company descriptions, management directories, and competitors. ReferenceUSA records allow users to view a company’s Corporate Family Tree. The custom search feature in ReferenceUSA allows users to set up a personalized search form to help identify and compare companies. Custom search options allow users to limit search results by business type, geography, business size and ownership type.
After launching ReferenceUSA, click on the link for "US Businesses" and then the tab for "Advanced Search":
On the Advanced Search page you can build a search that includes limiters for geography (zip code and radius from zip code), SIC/NAICS code (Business Type), and company size.
Click on Update Count (blue) then View Results (green).
Reference USA lets you download/export up to 500 company records at a time into excel. You can slice the data even further by looking at the other options available in the Advanced Search, just remember to Update Count when you add criteria before View Results.
Please remember that brand names and company names are not always the same and that not all of these companies are competitors.
The ReferenceUSA database contains detailed company descriptions, corporate family trees, management directories, and competitor information for more than 20 million U.S. businesses. ReferenceUSA enables users to conduct a custom search to help identify and compare companies. Custom search options include business type, geography, business size and ownership type.