Skip to main content

Honors Capstone

This research guide has been created to assist honors students with their capstone project offering resources to help from selecting a topic through putting on the finishing touches.

Why Use Databases?

The Bentley Library subscribes to a number of online databases that provide various types of content. Many provide access to periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper) articles. These databases offer advanced search features to better locate relevant, quality sources. 

Suggested Starting Databases

The following are General Databases meaning they cover a number of different topics. These would be a good place to start your research no matter what your topic is.

How Do I Know Which Databases to Use?

Subject Specific, or discipline specific databases, focus on materials published within a specific discipline or topic. These databases often offer additional search options that can be helpful for a specific discipline or ways that you can limit your search that are relevant to the field. For example, some databases let you search by type of study, age group, and more.

To find subject specific databases relevant to your research topic, visit the Databases A-Z page on the library website. Brainstorm your topic and ask yourself the following question: "Which disciplines or subject areas does my topic involve?" to help yourself figure out which subject specific database to select. You can use the filters at the top of the page to help narrow down your choices and use the "i" symbol next to each database to find out what types of content or subjects a database includes to find out if it is right for you.

You can also visit some of our other Research Guides related to a specific discipline or subject areas for suggestions of databases to search:

Search Beyond Bentley Library

Google Scholar will allow you to search outside of the library's databases to find information, however not all information you find will be freely available. You can configure Google Scholar to link to Bentley Library's holdings should those articles be available in our collections - visit the Remote Access to Google Scholar research guide for details. 

Bentley Library Doesn't Have It? Request it!

If you find an item (book, article, book chapter, etc.) in WorldCat, one of the databases, Google Scholar, or online that the Bentley Library does not own, you can request for that item to be sent here for you to borrow. Use our Interlibrary Loan system to request materials from other libraries.

Interlibrary Loan will not be able to obtain e-books, the full issue of a journal, reference books, and may not be able to obtain DVD/Videos, audio books, conference proceedings, dissertations, or case studies.

First Time Users: You will have to fill in a short registration form when you first log in.