Skip to main content

Online/Distance Learners Library Guide: Other Online Resources

Information for students who are enrolled in online courses


Economics Library Research Guide - The resources listed here have been selected to help you conduct research, broaden your understanding of the global economy, and in general, spark your interest in learning more about economics.


Bentley Library’s eBooks may be found by searching the library’s catalog. Most eBooks are formatted to read online or in PDF format, but some may be downloaded to transfer to another device, such as an iPod or Kindle. OverDrive audiobooks may be enjoyed in the mobile app or on your computer.In addition, depending on the desired format and device, additional software may need to be downloaded. Check the individual eBook collection for more information.

Bentley Library Downloadable Books

Downloadable Books from OverDrive provides over 500 eBooks and audiobooks, with an emphasis on classic and popular fiction and nonfiction, but includes some research materials. Every book and audiobook in this collection may be downloaded to laptops, PCs, iPads, Android devices, Kindles, Nooks, smartphones, and mp3 players.

View our Overdrive Downloadable Books page for more details.

Streaming Films

The Bentley Library provides access to a large and increasing number of streaming video titles, including contemporary and classic feature films, award-winning documentaries, instructional videos, news broadcasts, and presentations. These videos are available through three collections described below: Films on Demand, Kanopy, and Swank Digital Campus. The streaming videos can be viewed both on and off campus, and the videos in the Films on Demand collection can be found in the library's catalog.

Web Resources


A partnership of major research institutions and libraries that has created a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

The Internet Archive Text Archive

Contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books that are free to access and download. This collection is open to the community for the contribution of any type of text, many licensed using Creative Commons licenses.

The Library of Congress Digital Collections

The LOC has made digitized versions of collection materials available online since 1994, concentrating on its most rare collections and those unavailable anywhere else. It boasts a growing treasury of digitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, and books, as well as "born digital" materials such as Web sites. In addition, the Library maintains and promotes the use of digital library standards and provides online research and reference services.

The National Archives

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept forever. Those valuable records are preserved and made available, from census and military records, to the nation's founding documents.

Project Gutenberg

Founded in 1971, Project Gutenberg is an archive of digitized and freely available works, comprised mostly of public domain material, in open and easily accessible formats.