The comprehensive resources listed in this box are the library's "top" consumer and market research databases. They provide a mix of demographic and psychographic information.
These reports explore companies, markets and consumers. Mintel reports typically discuss key market segments, analyze market drivers, identify market and product trends, provide brand analysis, and discuss consumer attitudes, lifestyles, and behaviors.
Search Tip #1: Find Consumer Lifestyles information.
Search Tip #2: Look for consumer information in Industry Profiles and Category Briefings. There are a few different search options available on the main landing page:
Create a Mediamark University Internet Reporter Account: To use Mediamark you must create an account using your Bentley email address and a registration code If your professor has not provided you with a registration code, please visit or email the Reference Desk at firstname.lastname@example.org to obtain the code.
Note: The database is limited to 20 simultaneous users. If you experience an "at capacity" message, please try using the database at another time.
Mediamark Reporter Help:
How to Read a Mediamark Report
This one page PDF explains how to interpret data in a Mediamark report.
Mediamark University Internet Reporter Tutorial
This 15 page PDF document explains how to use the Mediamark University Internet Reporter.
How to Change Default Target Settings
This document provides instructions for how to add ALL available targets to your default target settings.
How to Use the Mediamark database
This series of Video Tutorials is brought to you by Western Washington University librarian, Elizabeth Stephan.
Mediamark Reporter/MRI+ User Guide Definitions
A guide to commonly used terms in the Mediamark/MRI+ databases.
Mediamark Survey of the American Consumer Questionnaires, Technical Guides and Codebooks
View the personal interview questionnaire, product booklet, technical guide (which includes methodology), and codebook (which lists all the variables that are measured and any associated disclosures or explanatory information) used for each survey.
Complete your marketing analysis by conducting a thorough review of current journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers. Search for articles that discuss the company/product/service that you have chosen and its marketing strategy or campaigns. Use ALL of the databases listed below.
Look in the box below for suggested keywords and search tips!
Use the names of products, companies, competitors, and/or industries as keywords in conjunction with the keywords below. Experiment with a variety of combinations! Here are a couple of examples:
Other keyword suggestions:
Databases and browsers may have different interfaces, but they often share similar searching principles for using keywords and constructing a search strategy. For an introduction or review of basic searching see the Search Tips page.