Skip to main content

Gender Studies Research: Finding Books and Videos

This guide provides a starting point for researching gender studies using Library resources.

Background Sources

Encyclopedia and other reference book entries are intended to give you an overview of a particular topic or issue. Check with your professor to make sure that reference sources are acceptable before citing them in a research paper.

The following selected titles are all located in the Reference Stacks on the main floor of the library (with the exception of the Gale Virtual Reference Library database). Ask a reference librarian to help you find more.

Browse for Books

Books on Gender Studies topics can be found in multiple call numbers in the stacks. Try looking in the following areas:

  • BL458 Women in comparative religion
  • BV1300-1395 Religious societies of women
  • BX4200-4563 Religious orders of women
  • CT3200-3830 Biography of women
  • HQ1-2044 The Family. Marriage. Women.
  • HQ77.7-77.95 Transsexualism
  • HV541 Women and Charity
  • HV1442-1448 Women
  • HV1449 Gay men. Lesbians.
  • LC1390 Education of men and boys
  • LC1401-2572 Education of women and girls
  • LC2574-2576 Education of gays, lesbians, bisexuals
  • PR111-116 Women authors (British)
  • PS147-152 Women authors (American)
  • RG1-991 Gynecology and obstetrics

Search the Bentley Library Catalog

Search for Books, E-books, Videos, DVDs, Journals, and Government Documents from the Library's collections:

Show me only available items

 

Finding Materials in the Library:

  • Books: Books marked Stacks are on the second floor if the call number starts with P. All other books marked Stacks are on the bottom floor of the library in the moving shelves.

Tip: Books are shelved by subject, so other books with similar content to the one you want may be located adjacent to your book.

Tip: Books often contain bibliographies, lists of resources used to research and write the book. You may wish to look at some of these sources for your own research.

  • DVDs and Videos: All Bentley community members may borrow from either of our video collections. Videos marked Popular Videos are located on the shelves on either side of the Art Gallery, shelved alphabetically by title. Videos marked Faculty Video Collection are in a closed area; go to the Library Services Desk and ask for them by call number.
  • Electronic materials: If the item is marked E-resource, click the link labeled Access this Resource to open the book or document.
  • Journals: Current issues of print journals and newspapers are located in the area on the main floor adjacent to the Reading Room. Back issues are located on the bottom floor of the library, shelved alphabetically by title.

Search WorldCat for Items Not Owned by Bentley

Search the WorldCat database for resources from other libraries around the world. If you find something that would be useful for your research, use Interlibrary Loan to order books, articles and DVDs.

Interlibrary Loan

Borrowing from Other Libraries

You may use ILLiad, our free Interlibrary Loan service, to request books and articles that are not available at the Bentley Library. Register for an account, then use ILLiad to submit requests, check the status of your requests, and update your information.

Please note: Interlibrary Loan will not order e-books, full journal issues, or reference books. Also, it may not be possible to obtain DVDs, videos, audio books, conference proceedings, dissertations, or case studies.  If you have questions, please contact Interlibrary Loan at interlibloan@bentley.edu or 781-891-2301.

Films on Demand