Skip to main content

Bentley Library Orientation: Getting to Know the Bentley Library

Get to know the Bentley Library through this general introduction to our resources & services.

Library Databases: Find Articles & More...

Trying to track down an article from the Harvard Business Review or the Boston Globe? Looking for a current industry survey? Conducting research for your history paper? Don't waste valuable time. Before you Google, check out our online research databases.

About the Online Databases

The library subscribes to over 100 online research databases. The library subscribes to these research databases for the scholarly, factual, and reliable information that they provide. The databases provide access to:

  • company profiles, annual reports, financial data and investment reports
  • industry surveys and market research reports
  • data and statistics
  • the full-text of national, international & regional newspapers
  • the full-text of academic journals, trade publications and popular magazines
  • full-text e-books
  • accounting and tax regulations
  • case law and legislation
Accessing the Online Databases
  • To view a complete listing of our databases visit our databases page. Use the subject filters on that page to identify the most highly recommended databases for your topic.
  • The databases are accessible from any campus computer. 
  • Off-campus access is available for most of the library's databases. When using a database from off-campus you will be prompted for your Bentley username and network password.
  • Some databases may require registration using your Bentley email address.

I Need the Full-Text Now!

One of our most frequently asked questions is "How can I get this article?"  Unfortunately, there isn't a simple answer. Consider the following:

  • The library subscribes to over 100 databases which contain references to millions of articles.
  • Some of the databases the Library subscribes to (e.g. Proquest, InfoTrac, EBSCO) are selected full-text databases. This means that sometimes you will get the full article and sometimes you won't. If you are not presented with the full-text of an article, you will usually be given an abstract (summary) of the article.
  • Some of the databases (e.g. JSTOR, Project Muse, Factiva, Lexis) are entirely full-text, meaning that you will always get the article in its entirety.

If you have a citation to an article, you can use the Journal Finder to track down the full-text of an article by following these steps:

  1. Consult the Journal Finder. Go to the library's home page and click on the Journal Finder search tab
  2. Use the Journal Finder to look up the journal you require. The finder will tell you if the full-text is available, the database it can be found in, and the dates that it is available. It will also tell you if the library subscribes to a print copy of the journal, and link you to the library's catalog so that you can check our print holdings.
  3. If the library does not have online or print access to the journal, you can request a copy of the article you need via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Search Tips - Best Practices for Searching the Library Databases

The Library databases have different search interfaces, but they do share basic search principles. Some of these principles are listed below.

It is good practice to look for the [Advanced Search] option in each database that you use. The advanced search page will usually make it very clear as to how you can control your search using Boolean search techniques, limiters, field searching, etc.

Boolean Searching

Boolean Searching is the cornerstone to an effective search strategy. Boolean searching refers to searching using a combination of words and the three Boolean Operators: AND, OR, NOT.

AND will make your search smaller. If you are retrieving too many records on your topic, try adding another search term with the operator AND.

For example: "krispy kreme" and marketing

OR will make your search bigger. If you are retrieving too few records on your topic, try adding another search term with the operator OR.

For example: (adolescents or teenagers)

NOT will exclude a word from your search results. If you are retrieving too many records on an unrelated topic, try eliminating a word with the operator NOT.

For example: dolphins not football

Phrase Searching

To search for two or more words in the exact order in which they are entered you should enclose the phrase in quotation marks " ".

For example: "obsessive compulsive disorder"

Truncation

Truncation allows you to search the root form of a word with all its different endings by adding a symbol to the end of a word. Truncation symbols vary by database (check the help screens or ask a Librarian), but are usually one of the below:

 * (asterisk)
! (exclamation point)
? (question mark)

For example: advertis* will search for advertise, advertisement, advertising, advertises

Field Searching & Limiters

Each database has a variety of predefined fields or limiters that you can search within. Some examples of fields and limiters are:

article title
article abstract
article text
author
publication title
date

geographic location
company name
product name
ticker symbol
NAICS/SIC Codes

document type
publication type
scholarly or peer-reviewed

Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Sources

Has your professor required you to use scholarly or peer-reviewed sources? Here is the basic definition.

Scholarly Publication: A journal that contains articles which have been reviewed by a panel of subject specialists or experts prior to their publication. Another term for a scholarly publication is “peer reviewed”.

If you need any help identifying a scholarly publication, please see your professor or a Reference Librarian.