Skip to main content

Film and Television Research: Websites

This guide is designed to help you get started doing film and television research using Library resources and services

Google Web Search

AFI Top 100 Movie Quotes

Websites

Academy Awards Database  This resource of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences allows users to search for the winners and nominees of each award category from the Academy Awards first year in 1927/1928 through its most recent in 2008.

All Movie.com An authoritative source of film production information which provides an overview, a review, as well as cast, production credits, and award information on well over 220,000 films.

American Film Institute  The website to this country's national film institute provides information on its film school, the AFI Conservatory, lists of its 100 greatest American movies in various categories, and information on AFI theatrical screenings of classic and contemporary films.

CineFiles A great online source of over 45,000 reviews, press kits, festival program notes and similar documents from the collection of the University of California, Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive.

Emmy Awards Database  This resource of the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences allows users to search for the winners and nominees of each award category from the Emmy Awards first year in 1949 through its most recent in 2008.

Film and Television Bibliographies Maintained by the Media Resource Center at UC Berkeley, this site has extensive lists of books and articles on individual films, television shows, filmmakers, actors, national cinemas, themes, and representations of race, ethnicity, and gender in film and television. 

The Hollywood ReporterThe online version of Hollywood's other premier trade publication provides news and developments on all aspects of the film industry as well as reviews and current box office information.

Internet Movie Database The preeminent website for film and television information. This indispensable resource provides full cast, crew and award information, plot summaries, photos, links to official websites and external reviews, and users ratings and comments.

Movie Review Query Engine  An amazing online directory of reviews of both classic and contempory films and DVDs.

Nielsen Media Research  The website for the company responsible for tabulating and determining ratings for television programs. This online resource not only posts current TV ratings but dissects the process by which Nielsen determines those ratings.  

Senses of Cinema  An online film journal which posts great introductory essays on a long list of major filmmakers, interviews with filmakers, book reviews, film festival reports, and general articles.

Variety  The online edition of the film industry's premier trade publication posts up to date news and development information on all parts of the movie business as well as current reviews and box office statistics.

Zap2it.com  A great online source of news and information regarding the film and television industry, including detailed ratings and box office information with commentary, reviews, and blogs.