Skip to main content

Film and Television Research: Locating Books

This guide is designed to help you get started doing film and television research using Library resources and services

Search the Bentley Library Catalog

Search for Books, Videos, DVDs, CDs and Journals from the Library's collections:

Show me only available items

Library of Congress Classification

All of the books in the Bentley Library and most other academic libraries are organized according to the Library of Congress Classification system(LC).  Below are the LC call number ranges associated with the broad categories of film and television and select subdivisions.


PN1992-PN1992.92  Television Broadcasts

PN1993-1999  Motion Pictures

PN1993.5.A1-Z  History

PN1993.7-PN1993.8  Study and Teaching

PN1997-PN1997.85  Screenplays(plays, scenarios, etc.)

PN1998.2-PN1998.3  Biography




General Reference Guides

The American Film Institute Desk Reference  Ref PN1994 .A599 2002

Contemporary North American Filmmakers: A Wallflower Critical Guide  Ref PN1998.2 C68 2002

Dictionary of Film Terms: The Aesthetic Companion to Film Art  Ref PN1993.45 .B33 2006

Encyclopedia of Television  Ref PN1992.18 .E53 2004 v.1-3

Encyclopedia of Television Subjects, Themes and Settings  Ref PN1992.18 .T38 2007

The Film Encyclopedia  Ref PN1993.45 .K34 2012

Film Review Index  Ref PN1995 .F464 v.1-2

The Film Studies Dictionary  Ref PN1993.45 .B49 2001

Halliwell's Film, Video & DVD Guide Ref PN1998 .H433 2006

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers  Ref PN1997.8 .I58 2000 v.1-4

Movies Made for Television: 1964-2004  Ref PN1992.8 .F5 M337 2005 v.1-5

The Oxford Handbook of Film and Media Studies  Ref PN1994 .O93 2008

Television in American Society  Ref PN1992.2 .H53 2007 v.1-3



The American Film Musical  Ref PN1995.9 .M86 A48 1989

The BFI Companion to the Western  Ref PN1995.9 .W4 B45 1988

Blockbusters: A Reference Guide to Film Genres  Ref PN1995.G663 2006

Encyclopedia of Film Noir  Ref PN1995.9 .F54 M39 2007

Encyclopedia of the the Documentary Film  Ref PN1995.9 .D6 E53 2006 v.1-3

The Encyclopedia of War Movies  Ref PN1995.9 .W3 D38 2004

The Encyclopedia of Westerns  Ref PN1995.9 .W4 F27 2003

Film Noir: An Encyclopedic Reference to the American Style  Ref PN1995.9 .F54 F54 1992


National, Ethnic, and Gender Cinema & Television

Blacks in American Film and Television: An Encyclopedia  Ref PN1995.9 .N4 B58 1988

The Encyclopaedia of Hindi Cinema  Ref PN1993.5 .I8 E53 2003

The Encyclopaedia of Indian Cinema  Ref PN1993.5 .I8 R277 1999

Great Spanish Films Since 1950  Ref PN1993.5 .S7 S29 2008

Guide to the Cinema of Spain  Ref PN1993.5 .S7 D68 1997

Hispanics in Hollywood: A Celebration of 100 Years in Film and Television  Ref PN1995.9 .H47 R49 2000

Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema  Ref PN1995.9 .N4 B433 2007

Multicultural Films: A Reference Guide  Ref PN1995.9 .M56 W45 2005

The Oxford Companion to Australian Film  Ref PN1993.5 .A8 O96 1999

The Prime Time Closet: A History of Gays and Lesbians on TV  Ref PN1992.8 .H64 T76 2002

The Queer Encyclopedia of Film and Television  Ref PN1590 .G39 Q44 2005

Reel Black Talk: A Sourcebook of 50 American Filmmakers  Ref PN1998.2 M66 1997

Reel Women: An International Directory of Contemporary Feature Films About Women  Ref PN1995.9 .W6 S62 2007

Women Filmmakers & Their Films  Ref PN1998.2 .W66 1998

Film and Television Books by Subject

Try browsing through these listings of film and television subject categories in the Bentley Library catalog. Click on the subject category to find a list of books within that category. Most of the subject categories have a main category, frequently History and Criticism, followed by more specialized categories, often broken down by country.

Actors and Actresses

African Americans



Film Criticism

Film Noir




Motion Picture Industry


Production and Direction

Science Fiction




Interlibrary Loan

Borrowing from Other Libraries

Books and articles that are not available at the Bentley Library can be requested via our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) department. All Interlibrary Loan requests should be made online using ILLiad, the interlibrary loan request system. Please note: the first time you access ILLiad you will be asked to complete a one-time registration of your contact information. Once registration has been completed you may use ILLiad to submit requests, check the status of your requests, and update your contact information.

Please note: Interlibrary Loan will not be able to obtain e-books, the full issue of a journal, reference books, and may not be able to obtain DVD/Videos, audio books, conference proceedings, dissertations, or case studies.  Contact Interlibrary Loan at or 781.891.2301.

Login to ILLiad / Check the status of your request