LibGuides: LGBTQ Research: Start with Books

Reference Works

Reference works can help you refine your topic and discover other resources. All of the books listed in this section can be found in the library's reference stacks, located on the main floor of the building.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies
Call Number: Reference Stacks HQ75.15 .S24 2016
This work examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives. The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic.
LGBTQ America Today: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Reference Stacks HQ73.3 .U6 L43 2009
Short articles with brief bibliographies, focusing on individuals still living, as well as key issues and concepts, and historical events with contemporary relevance.
Gender Issues & Sexuality: Essential Primary Sources
Call Number: Reference Stacks HQ21 .G359 2007
Primary documents such as court cases, news articles, photographs, and speeches, along with context and further reading.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture
Call Number: Reference Stacks HQ75.13 .R68 2006
International focus. Includes appendices on international law and archival sources.
The Gay and Lesbian Atlas
Call Number: Reference Stacks HQ76.3 U5 G355 2004
ISBN: 9780877667216
The Gay and Lesbian Atlas offers a detailed geographic and demographic portrait of gay and lesbian families in all 50 states plus the top 25 U.S. metropolitan areas. These results, presented in more than 250 full-color maps and charts, will both confirm and challenge anecdotal information about the spatial distribution and demographic characteristics of this community. The Atlas is a unique and important resource for the political and public policy communities, public health officials, social scientists, and anyone interested in gay and lesbian issues.
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America
Call Number: Reference Stacks HQ76.3 .U5 E53 2004
Compilation of more than 500 topical and biographical entries on the major events, personalities, places, and themes in a queer reading of more than 400 years of U.S. history.
Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality
Call Number: Reference Stacks HQ21 .I68 2004
Covers nearly 60 countries and places.
Lesbian Histories and Cultures
Call Number: Reference Stacks HQ75.5 .L43395 2000
Signed articles ranging from half a page to about six pages with a bibliography and cross references. "Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2001.
Gay Histories and Cultures
Call Number: Reference Stacks HQ75.13 .G37 2000
Signed articles ranging from half a page to about six pages with a bibliography and cross references. "Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2001.

Gale EBooks This link opens in a new window
Search this online collection of reference sources for gender-related topics.

Browse for Books

Library Search (Advanced Search)
Search for books, DVDs/videos, audiobooks, articles, journals, and more. For best results, first sign in to your library account.

Books on LGBTQ topics can be found in multiple call numbers. Try looking in the following areas:

HQ74 - 74.2 Bisexuality
HQ75 - 76.8 Homosexuality. Lesbianism.
HQ77.7-77.95 Transsexualism
KF 539 Same-Sex Marriage (United States)
PN56 .H57 Homosexuality in Literature
PN6071 .H724 Homosexuality in Literary Collections
RC451.4 .G39 Psychiatry - Gays and Lesbians

WorldCat Catalog -- Search for Items from Beyond Bentley

Search for resources from around the world and use the Library's Interlibrary Loan system to retrieve books, articles and even DVDs

Interlibrary Loan

Borrowing from Other Libraries

You may use our free Interlibrary Loan service to request books and articles that are not available at the Bentley Library. Interlibrary Loan will not order e-books, full journal issues, or reference books.

If you have questions, please contact Interlibrary Loan at interlibloan@bentley.edu or 781-891-2301.

LGBTQ Book Awards

Search for these titles in the Bentley Library catalog, or search the catalog for the award name.

Lambda Literary Awards
The Lambda Literary Foundation's mission is to celebrate LGBT literature. Award categories include: Anthology, Biography, Mystery, Poetry, LGBT Studies, SciFi/Fantasy/Horror, and Transgender.
Stonewall Book Awards
Initiated in 1971 and sponsored by the American Library Association's Round Table, the Stonewall Awards are the first honoring works in LGBTQ publishing.