Skip to main content

Careers: Company Resources

Begin researching careers using Library resources and services

Researching Companies, Jobs and Internships

ReferenceUSA is the leading source for business and residential data in the United States. ReferenceUSA helps users of all kinds search for jobs, research U.S. businesses, create marketing and small business plans, locate specific people and more.

ReferenceUSA is perfect for:

  • Creating effective marketing plans
  • Conducting competitive analysis
  • Searching career opportunities
  • Researching potential business areas

Where can I find a company's address, ticker symbol, status (private or public) or SIC/NAICS code?

Where can I find an annual report?

  • ThomsonOne
    • Provides corporate reports and company financials from 1995 to present. Includes 10-Ks, 10-Qs, tear-sheets, stock quotes, and daily, weekly and monthly stock graphs.  Internet Explorer required. On campus access only.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    • Click on Get Company Info, enter your company's name and then filter by SEC Filings.
  • GuideStar - Find up-to-date information on thousands of nonprofits 
    • 1.8 million IRS-recognized tax-exempt organizations
    • Thousands of faith-based nonprofits 
    • Digitized data from millions of Forms 990

Where can I find a company's history?

Business Insights: Essentials

Search Within Results image

Click on Company Histories under the Companies tab. Look up your company in the Search Within Results box.

Where can I find information on a company's recent financial and investment activity?

  • PrivCo
    • PrivCo provides private company financial data including M&A activity, investor information, private equity and venture capital data. It covers over 225,000 private companies, 11,000 investors, and over 80,000 private market M&A deals and funding rounds.
  • Hoover's Company Profiles
    • Hoover's Company Profiles features profiles of more than 40,000 companies.
  • Value Line Research Center
    • Provides current quarterly reports covering approximately 3,500 publicly traded companies.
       
  • Standard & Poor`s Net Advantage
    • Provides access to S&P`s Stock Guides, Dividend Records & Corporation Records
       
  • LexisNexis Academic
    • Provides information on public, private and international companies. Search by company name in the Company Information box in the lower right hand corner of the main page.

What is the simplest way to find a company's market share or key competitors?

Where can I find information about a company's products?

Where can I find a directory of companies doing business globally?

  • Uniworld: Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries contains United States companies that have a substantial investment in operations in other countries, including wholly- or partially-owned subsidiaries, affiliates and/or branches. Includes information for over 200 countries and 20,000 industries.This database is only accessible on campus.

‚Äč

  • Uniworld: Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in the United States contains companies outside the United States that have a substantial investment in United States operations, including wholly- or partially-owned subsidiaries, affiliates and/or branches. Includes information for over 200 countries and 20,000 industries. This database is only accessible on campus.