HI 350.2 - Serfs, Slaves and Sojourners: The Minority Experience in America (Dickson) - Spring 2020

Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.

This encyclopedia contains 50 thorough profiles of the most numerically significant immigrant groups now making their homes in the United States, telling the story of our newest immigrants and introducing them to their fellow Americans.

The Encyclopedia is the only resource available that focuses exclusively on the expanding role of minorities in U.S. politics. Containing more than 2,000 entries, this two-volume set is divided into four distinct sections covering African Americans, Asian Americans, Latinos, and Native Americans. It makes a broad range of information readily accessible, including historical and contemporary biographies, descriptions of major events, and coverage of important legal decisions and organizations.

This two-volume work examines the efforts of our diverse nation to secure civil rights for all its people, including African Americans, Native Americans, Chicanos, women, Asian Americans, gays and lesbians, workers, children, seniors, and numerous others. Covering the period from 1865 to the present, the set features over 700 entries comprised of historical and state surveys, biographies, entries on civil rights and other organizations, political and social movements, legislation and government programs, court cases, overall concepts, cultural and educational institutions, as well as film, literature, music, and art.

In this thirty-second annual volume in the American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy's NOMOS series, entitled Majorities and Minorities, thirteen distinguished contributors consider a diverse selection of topics. Included are essays on legitimacy of the majority, the utilitarian view of majoritarianism, majorities and elections, pluralism and equality, democratic theory, and American democracy and majority rules. Of Interest to political scientists, philosophers, and legal scholars, this collection brings together a variety of viewpoints. Each author is a leading voice within his or her specialized field.

This book provides insight into the ways in which internalized oppression influences the thoughts, attitudes, feelings, and behaviors of the oppressed toward themselves, other members of their group, and members of the dominant group.

This volume brings together selections of enduring intellectual value--classic articles, book excerpts, and research studies--that have shaped the study of race and ethnicity and our contemporary understanding of it. The selections are organized topically around major areas of study within race and ethnicity: basic concepts and issues; theoretical orientations to the study of race and ethnicity in the U.S.; race and ethnicity in American institutions; race and ethnicity in popular culture; and the future of race and ethnic relations in the U.S.

With full sections dedicated to racism, religious oppression, classism, ableism, youth and elder oppression, as well as an integrative section dedicated to sexism, heterosexism, and transgender oppression, this bestselling text goes far beyond the range of traditional readers. New essay selections in each section of this fourth edition have been carefully chosen to keep topic coverage timely and readings accessible and engaging for students.

Society comprises interconnected, interacting, interdependent groups, which differ in power and status. The consequences of belonging to a more powerful, higher-status 'majority' versus a less powerful, lower-status 'minority' can be profound, and the tensions that arise between these groups are the root of society's most difficult problems.

Many Americans believe they're living in a post-racial society, pointing to the election of Barack Obama to the presidency as evidence. Others believe that, despite the advances achieved by the civil rights movement, people of color are treated as second-class citizens. Is race overemphasized in America? Have government programs and policies done enough to level the playing field? Can the United States, a country that lives by the credo that all men are created equal, ever overcome its legacy of racism? Readers of this multifaceted anthology will be given the tools to form their own opinions about these complex issues.

This book examines patterns and trends in racial inequality over the past several decades. Iceland finds that color lines have softened over time, as there has been some narrowing of differences across many indicators for most groups over the past sixty years. Asian Americans in particular have reached socioeconomic parity with white Americans. Nevertheless, deep-seated inequalities in income, poverty, unemployment, and health remain, especially among blacks, and, to a lesser extent, Hispanics. The causes for disadvantage for the groups vary, ranging from a legacy of racism, current discrimination, human capital deficits, the unfolding process of immigrant incorporation, and cultural responses to disadvantage.