Skip to main content

Boston Library Consortium: Information for BLC Member Visitors

About the BLC

Founded in 1970, the Boston Library Consortium (BLC) is a resource sharing consortium of 19 academic and research libraries in Massachusetts, Connecticut, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island. As of 2018, Bentley University Library is a full member of the Boston Library Consortium.

Our membership grants Bentley students, faculty, and staff on-site access to most materials, services, and resources at other full member libraries. Materials can also be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Visiting Bentley Library

Welcome to the Bentley Library!

Here are some quick links to help regarding transportation and logistics of visiting Bentley University's campus:

You do not need a special card to enter the library, however:

If you plan on borrowing materials, please make sure to obtain a BLC Consortium Card from your home library before visiting Bentley. Please also make sure to bring your university ID.

Continue reading this page to learn more about borrowing privileges, services, and resources at the Bentley Library.

Loan Periods and Fines for BLC Members

Loan periods and fines for materials may vary. Consult the chart below for details on items available to borrow on site with a BLC Consortium card.

 

Collection Loan Period Overdue Fines
Audiobooks 28 days  
Bowles Collection 28 days  
Careers 28 days  
Faculty Video Collection 7 days $4.00 / day
Faculty Publications 7 days  
Oversized Books 28 days  
Periodicals Library Use Only  
Popular Reading 28 days  
Popular DVDs 7 days $1.00 / day
Reference Collection Library Use Only  
Reserve Items Library Use Only  
Stacks Books 28 days  

 

Courtesy notices are sent via email 3 days before due date. If you do not receive a courtesy notice, please contact Library Services to confirm your current email address. Lost items will be assessed a minimum $60 replacement fee plus a nonrefundable processing fee of $25.00. Fines can be paid at the Library Services Desk with cash or check only.

Databases and Online Resources

Visitors are granted access to most of the library's online databases and electronic resources while on campus using a library computer. However, some resources are restricted to current faculty, students, and staff. If you are interested in using a specific database, please contact the Reference Desk at 781.891.2300 or refdesk@bentley.edu before visiting to verify that visitors are permitted on-site access to that resource.  

Licensing agreements prevent the library from providing off-campus database access to users who are not currently Bentley University students, faculty or staff.

Computer and Network Access

Visitors are welcome to use library computers, although priority for computer use is given to current Bentley University students. Computers may not be available for guest use during peak times.

Wireless network access is available via Bentley University’s guest wireless network - Bentley-Guest. Guest network login credentials may be obtained at the Library Services Desk or the Reference Desk.

All guests must adhere to the Bentley University's Acceptable Use Policy when using the guest network or any other Bentley resource.

Printers, Scanners, Copiers and Fax Machine

Black-and-white and color printers are available for use in the library:

  • The current fee for B/W printing is $.05 per single-sided page ($.09 for double-sided).
  • The current fee for color printing is $.24 per single-sided page ($.46 for double-sided).
  • Payment must be made in cash. Please visit the Library Services Desk to inquire about guest printing cards and printing policies.

Scanners, photocopiers and a fax machine are available to use at no cost. Scanned documents can be emailed or saved to a flash drive.

Research Help

Research assistance is available at the Reference Desk and via the library’s Ask a Librarian email, phone, chat and text services. 

Reference Librarian Hours - Academic Semester

  • Monday through Thursday: 8:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
  • Friday: 8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
  • Saturday: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
  • Sunday: 1:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Reference Librarian Hours - Summer

  • Monday through Thursday: 8:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
  • Friday: 8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
  • Saturday: reference desk closed
  • Sunday: 12:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Reference Desk Contact Information

Questions?

Contact Library Services with any questions:

Or chat below: