Skip to main content

Bentley Library Services and Resources for Alumni

Bentley Library services and resources for Bentley alumni.

Welcome, Bentley University Alumni!

All Bentley University alumni are welcomed back to the Bentley Library to use the library’s physical and online services on-site, and to take advantage of other library resources and services as described below.

Bentley Alumni ID Card

Alumni may use their Bentley University alumni ID card to borrow materials from the Bentley Library (see borrowing privileges below). To receive your Bentley University alumni ID card, please visit the Card Office in the University Police Station, or contact aluminfo@bentley.edu for more assistance. 

Borrowing Privileges

Alumni may use their Bentley University alumni ID card to borrow materials from the Bentley Library.

Alumni may borrow the following materials:

  • Books and audiobooks: 4 weeks + one renewal
  • Popular DVDs: 7 days

Alumni may use the following materials on-site only:

  • Faculty DVD collection
  • Bowles Collection
  • Print Periodicals (magazines and journals) collection

Alumni are not eligible to use the Bentley Library’s OverDrive downloadable book collection, Interlibrary Loan services, or museum passes, but your public library may offer these services.

If you have questions about using or borrowing library materials, please contact the Library Services Desk at 781.891.2168 or libraryservices@bentley.edu. More information about Bentley Library loan periods and fines is available at library.bentley.edu/services/loanperiodsfines.asp.

Databases and Online Resources

Alumni are granted access to most of the library's online databases and electronic resources while on campus using a library computer. However, some resources are restricted to current faculty, students, and staff. If you are interested in using a specific database, please contact the Reference Desk at 781.891.2300 or refdesk@bentley.edu before visiting to verify that alumni are permitted on-site access to that resource.  

Licensing agreements prevent the library from providing off-campus database access to users who are not currently Bentley University students, faculty or staff.

Computer and Network Access

Alumni are welcome to use library computers, although priority for computer use is given to current Bentley University students. Computers may not be available for guest use during peak times.

Wireless network access is available via Bentley University’s guest wireless network - Bentley-Guest. Guest network login credentials may be obtained at the Library Services Desk or the Reference Desk.

All guests must adhere to the Bentley University Code for Ethical Use of Computing Resources when using the guest network or any other Bentley resource.

Printers, Scanners, Copiers and Fax Machine

Black-and-white and color printers are available for alumni to use in the library:

  • The current fee for B/W printing is $.05 per single-sided page ($.09 for double-sided).
  • The current fee for color printing is $.24 per single-sided page ($.46 for double-sided).
  • Payment must be made in cash. Please visit the Library Services Desk to inquire about guest printing cards and printing policies.

Scanners, photocopiers and a fax machine are available for alumni to use at no cost. Scanned documents can be emailed or saved to a flash drive.

Research Help

Research assistance is available at the Reference Desk and via the library’s Ask a Librarian email, phone, chat and text services. Alumni may also request a research consultation appointment.

Reference Librarian Hours - Academic Semester

  • Monday through Thursday: 8:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
  • Friday: 8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
  • Saturday: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
  • Sunday: 1:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Reference Librarian Hours - Summer

  • Monday through Thursday: 8:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
  • Friday: 8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
  • Saturday: reference desk closed
  • Sunday: 12:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Reference Desk Contact Information

To schedule a one-on-one consultation with a reference librarian please complete the consultation request form or email refdesk@bentley.edu.

RefWorks Accounts

If you established a RefWorks account as a Bentley student you will retain access to that account as an alumnus/a.

University Archives

Looking for old course descriptions, yearbooks, or student newspapers? You are welcome to view this archival material, but since some of our materials are located off-site, we ask that you call or email at least a week in advance to discuss the material you require. For all Archives inquiries, please contact Project Archivist Jaimie Fritz at 718-891-2269 or jfritz@bentley.edu.

More Information About Bentley University Alumni Benefits

For more information about Bentley University alumni benefits, contact the Center for Alumni, Parents & Friends at aluminfo@bentley.edu or visit bentley.edu/alumni/alumni-association/alumni-benefits.