Skip to main content

GB320 -- Summer 2018: Home

This guide has been designed to support the secondary research needs of students in GB320 -- 004, 005, 006, 007, 008, 009, Spring 2018.

Book a Research Consultation

For more in depth research projects, personalized reference consultations are available.

Please note that consultations:

Click here to sign up for a consultation.

A librarian will contact you to confirm your consultation.

Research Help

Bentley Reference librarians are here to assist with your research. We can help with selecting search tools, finding and evaluating sources, and citing sources. 

Here are the ways that you can get research help:

  • Visit us at the Reference Desk during our hours.
  • Call us: 781.891.2300
  • Text us:  781.728.0511
  • Email us: refdesk@bentley.edu
  • Chat/IM with us: 

 

Research Consultations

While you can always stop by the reference desk for research help during our hours, you can also schedule an appointment with a librarian for one-on-one assistance with research. 48 hours advanced notice appreciated for scheduling purposes. Schedule an appointment here. 

Guide Description

This library research guide is intended to provide students with help finding secondary research related to Journalism Education and Funding for Education Programs with an emphasis on school journalism programs.  The resources listed on this guide are a mixture of Bentley Library owned or licensed databases , as well as, Internet resources.

Read Assignment 1 before beginning your research.   Many of the resources listed on this guide can be used to answer different parts of the assignment.  There is no one resource that can be used to complete the assignment.

  • Bentley University electronic resources can be accessed directly through this guide or via the Bentley Library's databases web page (http://library.bentley.edu/research/databases.asp).
  • Print resources listed on this guide will either be located on the Library Reference Desk or on-reserve at the Library Services Desk.
  • Make sure to take advantage of the related research guides listed on this page.

Search Tips - Best practices for searching library databases

The Library databases have different search interfaces, but they do share basic search principles. Some of these principles are listed below.

It is good practice to look for the [Advanced Search] option in each database that you use. The advanced search page will usually make it very clear as to how you can control your search using Boolean search techniques, limiters, field searching, etc.

Boolean Searching

Boolean Searching is the cornerstone to an effective search strategy. Boolean searching refers to searching using a combination of words and the three Boolean Operators: AND, OR, NOT.  A best practice is to capitalize your Boolean Operators.

AND will make your search smaller. If you are retrieving too many records on your topic, try adding another search term with the operator AND.

For example: "krispy kreme" AND marketing

OR will make your search bigger. If you are retrieving too few records on your topic, try adding another search term with the operator OR.

For example: (adolescents OR teenagers)

NOT will exclude a word from your search results. If you are retrieving too many records on an unrelated topic, try eliminating a word with the operator NOT.

For example: dolphins NOT football

Phrase Searching

To search for two or more words in the exact order in which they are entered you should enclose the phrase in quotation marks " ".

For example: "obsessive compulsive disorder"

Truncation

Truncation allows you to search the root form of a word with all its different endings by adding a symbol to the end of a word. Truncation symbols vary by database (check the help screens or ask a Librarian), but are usually one of the below:

* (asterisk)
! (exclamation point)
? (question mark)

For example: advertis* will search for advertise, advertisement, advertising, advertises

Field Searching & Limiters

Each database has a variety of predefined fields or limiters that you can search within. Some examples of fields and limiters are:

article title
article abstract
article text
author
publication title
date
geographic location
company name
product name
ticker symbol
NAICS/SIC Codes
document type
publication type
scholarly or peer-reviewed

Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Sources

Has your professor required you to use scholarly or peer-reviewed sources? Here is the basic definition.

Scholarly Publication: A journal that contains articles which have been reviewed by a panel of subject specialists or experts prior to their publication. Another term for a scholarly publication is “peer reviewed”.

If you need any help identifying a scholarly publication, please see your Professor or a Reference Librarian.

Electronic Resources Librarian

Stephen Tracey's picture
Stephen Tracey
Contact:
Bentley University Library
175 Forest Street
Waltham, MA 02452
781.891.2302
Website