Complete your marketing analysis by conducting a thorough review of current journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers. Search for articles that discuss the company/product/service that you have chosen and its marketing strategy or campaigns. Use ALL of the databases listed below.
Use the names of products, companies, competitors, and/or industries as keywords in conjunction with the keywords below. Experiment with a variety of combinations! Here are a couple of examples:
Other keyword suggestions:
Databases and browsers may have different interfaces, but they often share similar searching principles for using keywords and constructing a search strategy. For an introduction or review of basic searching see the Search Tips page.
The library's databases have different search interfaces, but they share basic search principles. Some of these principles are listed below.
It is good practice to look for the [Advanced Search] option in each database that you use. The advanced search page will usually make it very clear as to how you can control your search using Boolean search techniques, limiters, field searching, etc.
Boolean searching is the cornerstone to an effective search strategy. Boolean searching refers to searching using a combination of words and the three Boolean Operators: AND, OR, NOT. A best practice is to capitalize your Boolean Operators.
For example: "krispy kreme" AND marketing
For example: (adolescents OR teenagers)
For example: dolphins NOT football
To search for two or more words in the exact order in which they are entered you should enclose the phrase in quotation marks " ".
For example: "obsessive compulsive disorder"
Truncation allows you to search the root form of a word with all its different endings by adding a symbol to the end of a word. Truncation symbols vary by database (check the help screens or ask a Librarian), but are usually one of the below:
! (exclamation point)
? (question mark)
For example: advertis* will search for advertise, advertisement, advertising, advertises
Field Searching & Limiters
Each database has a variety of predefined fields or limiters that you can search within. Some examples of fields and limiters are:
Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Sources
Professors often require students to use articles from scholarly journals in their research papers and assignments. Scholarly journal articles are written by researchers, academic scholars, or experts in a field and are written for a targeted audience that includes other researchers, scholars, and specialists. Scholarly journals are sometimes also referred to as "refereed" or "peer-reviewed".
How you go about finding scholarly articles really depends on your topic, but most databases allow users to limit their searches to scholarly articles, "refereed" or "peer-reviewed" publications. Keep in mind that not everything published in a scholarly journal is a scholarly article (e.g. book reviews, editorials, letters), so you will still need to evaluate each article individually. If you need any help identifying a scholarly publication, please see your professor or a Reference Librarian.