Skip to main content

DCP305 Marketing Essentials: Locate Competitors & Assess Demand

This research guide has been created to assist students enrolled in DCP305 Marketing Essentials with the Marketing Plan Project.

On This Page

Use the resources on this page to analyze a local marketgenerate lists of businesses in a geographic area and assess market demand.

  1. DemographicsNow database: Reports
  2. DemographicsNow database: Find Businesses

1. DemographicsNow database: Reports

DemographicsNow database 

 

​DemographicsNow's Reports* allow you to run a quick demographic analysis of a geographic area. Reports can help you choose a business location and assess the market potential of an area. Most reports will require the input of at least one unique address. Some reports will also require the input of a SIC or NAICS industry classification code

Instructions:

Go to the DemographicsNow database.

  1. Enter a Geography:
    • Search for a specific address in the search box (e.g. 239 Moody Street, Waltham, MA), or click Options to select a geographic area. To enter multiple addresses, use the "create locations" option. 
  2. Click on the Reports tab.
  3. In the Choose Report drop-down box, select a report to run.
  4. Follow the report prompts.

*Report descriptions

Assess Market Risk Report

Want to compare up to 4 potential business types? This report will display information about competitors around your potential business locations including number of competitors and number of out-of-business companies.

Business Site Prospector Report 

Need information for your business plan on where you should locate your new venture? This report will contain the following information: 

  • An overview map that shows the area you've chosen to investigate.
  • A list of the kinds of things consumers tend to spend their money on, within 1 mile, 3 miles, and 5 miles of your chosen location.
  • A snapshot of the demographic characteristics of the consumers within 1 mile, 3 miles, and 5 miles of your chosen location.
  • (Optional) A map of potential competitors within 1 mile, 3 miles, and 5 miles of your chosen location.

Choose a Location Report

Want to compare up to 5 potential locations for your business? This report will display information about competitors around your potential business locations including:

  • number of competitors
  • competitor's sales total,
  • the number of out-of-business companies.The report also outputs a map of competitors for each location and an optional custom report and Demographic Detail Comparison Report.

Compare Local Markets Report

Which locales would you like to learn more about? This report will contain the following information: 

  • An overview map of the areas you've chosen to explore.
  • Comparisons of age, growth, income, and race in the ZIP code areas you have chosen.
  • (Optional) A map of potential competitors within the ZIP code areas you have chosen.

Market Demand Map Report

Want to see which local areas may have a need for your type of business? This report will create a map that will reveal:

  •  A map of the local area where you are interested in doing business
  • The location of competing business in the area you have chosen
  • The area where competition is low, shaded in red
  • Population differences in the area where competition is low (shaded in gradients of red) revealing areas of potential demand

Sizing Your Market Report

Want to know how big your market is? This report will calculate the market size based on your geography selection and selected consumer expenditure variable. 

2. DemographicsNow database: Find Your Competition With Custom Business Search

DemographicsNow database

 

Identify companies in your geographic area. Use DemographicsNow Companies search to create a list of businesses in a geographic area. You can specify an SIC or NAICS code to filter the list by business type.

Instructions:

Go to the DemographicsNow database.

  1. Click on the People & Companies tab at the top of the page.
  2. Enter a Geography:
    • Search for a specific address in the search box (e.g. 239 Moody Street, Waltham, MA), or click Options to select a geographic area. To enter multiple addresses, use the "create locations" option. 
  3. Click on List Type and choose Business List.
  4. You can click Search without making any other selections to generate a list of all businesses within your geographic area. However, you can use the filters on the left side of the page to narrow your search results.  For example:
    • Click on "Business Type" to narrow your search results by SIC or NAICS Code. [Find SIC and NAICS Codes here].  Use the menu to choose a code(s).  (See screenshot below) 
  5. After making all of your selections, click the SEARCH button to retrieve the list of businesses.

The Businesses search interface: